We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best holiday cottage rental in the Lakes...”
The Hyning Estate, Beautiful, Peaceful, a wonderful Retreat and wonderfully warm all year around
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Hyning Estate, Beautiful, Peaceful, a wonderful Retreat and wonderfully warm all year around
Beckside Barns - 4 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms with optional extra beds Beckside Barns is part of a traditional 'Bank Barn'
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
116 reviews
The Hyning Estate, Beautiful, Peaceful, a wonderful Retreat and wonderfully warm all year around
Beckside Barns - 4 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms with optional extra beds
Beckside Barns is part of a traditional 'Bank Barn'
The large window upstairs has amazing views over the Parkland and Lakeland Fells
The 'default' layout - Kitchen & Dining Upstairs (optionally can be downstairs)
Dining for up to 10 people (potentially 12)
Optional downstairs dining for 8 people (for those with low mobility)
The kitchen with stairs down beyond
Bedroom No 1 (upstairs - double) - there is room for a cot where the camera is.
Bedroom No 2 (upstairs) - room for an optional extra child's bed if required.
Family Bathroom No 1 (upstairs)
Lounge area (downstairs)
Bedroom No 3 (King - downstairs)
Bedroom 4 (downstairs)
Family bathroom 4 (downstairs)
Optional extra bed (downstairs)
The Bar at Reception
The Patio at Reception
Summer drinks on the Patio at Reception
Amazing Sunsets
The Bar and Patio at Reception (at dusk)
The Hyning Estate in bloom (Spring)
Landscaped Grounds
Lambs on the fellside in Spring
EV charging point (free for guests)
The Hyning Estate uses Heat Pumps, Solar Panels, MVHR and low carbon electricity
The Hyning Estate in Winter (Wonderfully warm & Cosy)
Sheep in front of Beckside Barns in the snow
Fireworks on New Year's Eve
Fireworks on New Year's Eve
The nearby Howgill Fells
Lowgill Viaduct
The Lake District in the Autumn
Lakes & Mountains
Haystacks from the shores of Buttermere
The Lake District is a great place to bring kids walking, cycling or exploring in the woods
A New Year's Day Walk to Latrigg (The Hyning Estate's Walk 27)
Wonderful Views
7 miles from Kendal - A Gateway to The English Lakes
The Hyning Estate - Cumbria Tourism's Self-Catering Winners and Sustainable Tourism Finalists 2015
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Kendal, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 116 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gareth J
Bermuda
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The best holiday cottage rental in the Lakes - but not actually in the Lakes!”
Reviewed 5 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

As you will see from the other reviews The Hyning Estate is truly a fantastic place to stay and is ideal for walkers who want to access the Lakes and the under explored Howgill Fells. I rarely write reviews on Trip Advisor however felt compelled to do so as Jan and Richard made us so welcome. They gave us a tour of the estate and all cottages have been completed to an incredibly high standard. I have been visiting the Lakes for over 25 years - and can say this is the best place to stay - even though it is technically just outside the national park. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosy bar and the owners!
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie S
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very special place”
Reviewed 8 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We have just had a fantastic few days staying here. The owners have obviously put a huge amount of thought into the conversion and the attention to detail in the level of comfort that is provided is superb. Whilst we were there they organised a Halloween evening for us all in the bar area with pumpkin cutting for the children, food and a showing of Ghost Busters on the big screen! They were incredibly generous and kind and are have really created a very special place here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The personal service and the way the attention to detail in the conversion
Liked least: A bit of a car journey to some of the Lake District area we wanted to visit
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jinty1055
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The perfect retreat to unwind with friends”
Reviewed 21 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We have just returned from a family weekend and we are all agreed that it was the best holiday rental we have stayed in.
Recently opened, the properties are all first class, including triple glazing and under floor heating. Everything is immaculate, and finished to the highest standard. The estate even has a small bar.
Only 6 miles from Kendal and the nearest supermarket is only a 10/15 minute drive.
Great base for hill walkers and private parties.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gdog76
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing - 7 star customer service!”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Where do I start.. I have too say that the experiance start to finish exceeded expectations on every single level... I booked directly just as the hyning launched 6 months before our stay. We wanted a peaceful setting with a few added extras. I wrote to Richard asking for a cot and highchair for our one year old daughter and he advised me there wasnt an issue and could even provide a sstairgate.. (A few other cottages couldnt provide the highchair) & we also needed WIfi for my job. Richard gave me all the information i needed including very comprehensive directions.

On arrival we where blown away by the beauty of the place... green everywhere and rustic looking buildings .. it was faultless. We where shwon round our accomdation the tack barn and it was in pristine condition.. with more mod cons than most homes have... Richard showed us through the basics but the very comprehensive information book on everything from taps to wifi was brilliant..

Richard advised that his wife was able too cook a meal with 24 hours notice and we took that option up twice.. Exoecting an average meal we where blown away with steak as our 1st meal and Jan.s classic pasta the second night.. along with catering a mini meal for our daughter.. the food was way above expectations and very reasonably priced... the happy hour made the drinks a silly price and even without the drinks where below average price..

As hosts they gave you space but where there at a drop of a hat if you needed anything...

We cannot recommend this place enough 5 star luxury with a 7 star customer service!!

Accomdating in every way and with a wide variety of accomdation there is something to suit all!!

Many thanks for an amzing experiance

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The customer experiance
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emilychar...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Memorable Weekend at the Hyning Estate”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Arrived at the Hyning Estate quite late on the Friday evening and were greeted immediately with a warm welcome and a quick check in. We stayed in the Tack Barn and were so surprised at the standard and quality of the cottage as the website pictures do not do it any justice. It is beatifully decorated and in a stunning location. The kitchen area caters for your every need and there was even a pint of milk waiting for us in the fridge! There is a bar on site, although we didn't visit it as the cottage was perfect for getting cosy and enjoying a few drinks in front of the amazing tv! We travelled to Windermere on the Saturday which is only a 30 minute drive with lots to do on arrival. There is also a morrisons about 10-15 minute drive from the cottage for supplies. The Hyning Estate is definitely worth visiting as you will not be let down!! It is clear that the owners work extremely hard and are so dedicated to their property which is reflected in their beautiful estate. We wish we could have stayed longer but we plan on coming back again soon!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing