We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (792)
Filter reviews
793 results
Traveller rating
225
290
157
64
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
225
290
157
64
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews four poster bed travelzoo offer steam room and jacuzzi groupon deal evening meal buffet style lovely hotel set menu lamb birthday treat booked this hotel spa facilities plenty of parking one night stay room was clean and comfortable lake district a lovely stay
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 793 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

I know this hotel is being renovated but it should never have got in this extremely tired state...... Very poor state and with a top dollar price, maybe these places just know they are going to be busy because of the location......

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

We stayed for two nights during the hotel’s ongoing refurbishment. We were allocated room 101 directly above the pneumatic drill being used below in the public area. I complained and we were moved to a room at the back of the hotel which was much quieter, although this ‘four poster bed room’ had a broken sink, lack of toiletries, broken handles on furniture, black mildew on all windows and room ceilings. The rooms are tired, with bathrooms that need completely refurbished. The public reception area and brasserie are being improved. The saving grace of this hotel was the brilliant swimming pool and the refurbished dining room (but peculiar tables, far too high). The food needs a bit of finesse and less in amount. Staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

Friendly welcome on arrival and lift to first floor. Room was nice but mould on the ceiling and walls in bathroom which is my main concern - white vinegar kills this! Think when renovations are finished it will be much better. Had a drink in the bar and the staff are very friendly but it felt like we were in a barn.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonecrossOffice, General Manager at Stonecross Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

Thank you for your feedback relating to your stay. Apologies for the issues you encountered and I will certainly look into this. The hotel is undergoing refurbishment so we have had to move our bar area into the function suite so apologies for the odd layout. I hope to welcome you back once the refurbishment is complete.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

We stayed at Stonecross Manor Hotel in Kendal for one night in September while on the way up to Scotland. The hotel was easy to find on the outskirts of the town, about 20 minutes’ walk from the centre. We had a lovely welcome from the girl at reception and we were allocated Room 116 on the first floor. They did have a lift. It was a quiet, comfortable room with plenty of space plus a sitting area. It was light and airy and had the usual TV, hairdryer, tea/coffee making facilities, iron and ironing board. There was a nice bathroom with shower over the bath, a few complimentary toiletries and lovely thick bath towels.
There was a lovely menu for dinner. The food was good, beautifully presented and the staff were great.
Breakfast the next morning was extra to the room rate. It offered a good selection of hot food and a reasonable cold buffet
There was supposed to be free Wi-Fi in the room but we were told that, as they were having some refurbishing work, it was only available in the public areas at that time.
There was ample free parking. Would definitely stay here again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Annathetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonecrossOffice, Reception at Stonecross Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

We are so pleased to read your positive review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

As many other reviewers have said the property if tired and shabby, carpets stained and bathrooms with mildew. Beds small and very uncomfortable and walls so thin that we could hear which television program next door were watching. However the building itself is nice and has potential and the staff were pleasant.
The dining room is a little odd, its a function suite that they have just thrown some tables and chairs in to have dinner hence there is no atmosphere. The service was chaotic when we first arrived in the dining room and the staff apparently had very poor knowledge of the menu that they were serving. That being said the food was far better than expected. Breakfast buffet was average in selection and quality.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Get_away_fr0m_it_all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonecrossOffice, Reception at Stonecross Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

We are currently undergoing a full refurbishment and the restaurant has been temporarily relocated to the function suite, which may account for the "odd" lay out. We hope you visit again once the work has been completed to see our new look.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews