We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Reviewed 18 October 2017

Yes this hotel is under renovation, but price relates to this. We stayed again on Monday this week, staff could'nt do enough for us. Pool was great, food was really good both evening meal and breakfast and service was great. Room was a wee bit dated but comfortable and we were told that rooms are being updated a few at a time. There was a bar and restaurant. Staff are coping. We saw no signs of any noise disturbances etc
Cannot wait to return. Thank you staff for looking after us and our grandson.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank hwainwright63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (709)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 709 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

I know this hotel is being renovated but it should never have got in this extremely tired state...... Very poor state and with a top dollar price, maybe these places just know they are going to be busy because of the location......

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

We stayed for two nights during the hotel’s ongoing refurbishment. We were allocated room 101 directly above the pneumatic drill being used below in the public area. I complained and we were moved to a room at the back of the hotel which was much quieter, although this ‘four poster bed room’ had a broken sink, lack of toiletries, broken handles on furniture, black mildew on all windows and room ceilings. The rooms are tired, with bathrooms that need completely refurbished. The public reception area and brasserie are being improved. The saving grace of this hotel was the brilliant swimming pool and the refurbished dining room (but peculiar tables, far too high). The food needs a bit of finesse and less in amount. Staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

Friendly welcome on arrival and lift to first floor. Room was nice but mould on the ceiling and walls in bathroom which is my main concern - white vinegar kills this! Think when renovations are finished it will be much better. Had a drink in the bar and the staff are very friendly but it felt like we were in a barn.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonecrossOffice, General Manager at Stonecross Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

Thank you for your feedback relating to your stay. Apologies for the issues you encountered and I will certainly look into this. The hotel is undergoing refurbishment so we have had to move our bar area into the function suite so apologies for the odd layout. I hope to welcome you back once the refurbishment is complete.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

We stayed at Stonecross Manor Hotel in Kendal for one night in September while on the way up to Scotland. The hotel was easy to find on the outskirts of the town, about 20 minutes’ walk from the centre. We had a lovely welcome from the girl at reception and we were allocated Room 116 on the first floor. They did have a lift. It was a quiet, comfortable room with plenty of space plus a sitting area. It was light and airy and had the usual TV, hairdryer, tea/coffee making facilities, iron and ironing board. There was a nice bathroom with shower over the bath, a few complimentary toiletries and lovely thick bath towels.
There was a lovely menu for dinner. The food was good, beautifully presented and the staff were great.
Breakfast the next morning was extra to the room rate. It offered a good selection of hot food and a reasonable cold buffet
There was supposed to be free Wi-Fi in the room but we were told that, as they were having some refurbishing work, it was only available in the public areas at that time.
There was ample free parking. Would definitely stay here again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Annathetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonecrossOffice, Reception at Stonecross Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

We are so pleased to read your positive review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
2.4 km away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
2 km away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,115 reviews
12.4 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kendal
564 reviews
1.9 km away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
38 km away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonecross Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonecross Manor Hotel

Address: 84 Milnthorpe Road, Kendal LA9 5HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Price Range: €67 - €145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonecross Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the fringe of Kendal with ample FREE parking, easy access from M6 junction 36 and A591. All 30 rooms have en suite bath & shower and have been decorated to a high standard, some boast elaborate 4-poster beds. Established in 1857 as an orphanage Stonecross Manor Hotel has since been extensively modernised and converted into the fine hotel that it is today. Close to the Lake District and Yorkshire Dales National Parks and is also an ideal stop off point when travelling to and from Scotland. Catherines Restaurant and the Westmorland Bar offer an ambience of relaxation coupled with quality Cumbrian and regional cuisine and a wine list to please all tastes. The Newly refurbished heated-indoor pool and poolside Spa with Steam Room and massage jets is now open to guests and members. Stonecross Manor Hotel is also a perfect Wedding venue, with function rooms to suit small or large receptions, both formal and informal while the Civil Ceremony Licence ensures your special day can be enjoyed all in one place. Conference and banquet facilities are also available offering a light and airy environment for your seminar or dinner with quality equipment and extensive menus to cater for all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stonecross Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonecross Manor Kendal
Hotel Stonecross Manor
Stonecross Manor Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing