We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crosthwaite House
Nearby Hotels
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$198
US$141
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$156
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
County Hotel(Kendal)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$95
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$114
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
US$69
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
90
10
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
90
10
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 100 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We spent almost a week there in July and it was so relaxing. The view from our bedroom window was amazing. They are a lovely family that run the B&B and the small touches such as homemade cake left each day add to a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: One of the rooms facing the country road has wonderful views, another has a small patio attached
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GraceNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TireeDawson, Manager at Crosthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2014

Thanks so much for your lovely review and apologies for taking so long to reply - for some reason we haven't been getting alerts to tell us we have reviews! We really appreciate you leaving a review and are so glad you enjoyed your stay :) Sam and Tiree x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This B&B was our accomodation base for a day out on lake Winderemere - it was perfect. The views were great and the rooms were clean and spacious. The breakfast was enjoyed by all of our party - especially the variety of a 'daily special'. Sam ( the owner) could not have done more for us from the moment we arrived and I would definetly recommend this property for anyone visiting the lake. Location is approximately 10-15 mins ( £15 in a taxi) from Bowness for a day in the lakes and the Punchbowl pub is situated less than a 2 minute walk from the B&B. Great stay - Thanks Sam and Tiree

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TireeDawson, Manager at Crosthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2014

Thanks so much for your lovely review and apologies for taking so long to reply - for some reason we haven't been getting alerts to tell us we have reviews! We're really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Best wishes Sam and Tiree x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My family and I spent two nights here from 4-6th July. We absolutely loved our stay and we will definately be returning! From start to finish the stay was faultless - from the scrumptious freshly baked cakes left out all day (my husband's favourite bit) to the gorgeous rooms with a 5 star view. The B & B has a real homely feeling and the attention to detail with flowers & tea/coffee in the room just makes this place stand out from other places we have stayed. Its worth every penny - we would easily have expected to pay much more for the service and surroundings. We will be recommending this place to all of our friends who want a little break in a gorgeous part of the Lakes.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crosthwaite_House, Manager at Crosthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Wow what a lovely review! Thank you so much! We really appreciate all your kind words. So glad you enjoyed your stay. we hope to welcome you back to Crosthwaite with open arms and lots of cakes :) xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stunning view from the house, all the rooms are clean, large and airy. Lovely attention to detail in the decoration and food was delicious (we particularly liked the yogurt and granola pots and the little cake treats by the door). Sam and Tiree are wonderful hosts, very friendly and helpful.
The road to Crosthwaite from Kendal is a bit tricky but once you are there its so worth it. We were sad to hear this is the last year they are keeping the place as a BnB so we will be telling all our friends to go there this year!

Room Tip: All the rooms are big and airy, we were in the Merryweather room which has a door opening onto the back garden which we liked. We did notice the Bradley King room is very big and has a king size bed with a lovely front garden view (no back door).
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shayelak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crosthwaite_House, Manager at Crosthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thanks so much for leaving us such a lovely review. We're really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for passing on the word to your friends! Best wishes, Sam and Tiree x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Although we haven't stayed at Crosthwaite House for many years For whatever reason I decide to look it up today to see if it was still in business We used to go Saturday bed breakfast and Sunday Lunch .In those Days the owner was Rudi and his wife who was the chef ,I believe she was Swiss .The food was delicious and there used to be Fudge and coffee in the hallway after Sunday Lunch which could be enjoyed in the lounge .Every where was spotless and quite and peaceful and looking on the web site it looks to remain the same . What brought me to look on the web page today was that we have a new grandson and his name is Rudi and it brought back memories of Rudi Dawson and Crothwaite house . No doubt we will try and come back one day .Thankyou

Room Tip: We always asked for the back room with a door which over looked the veg garden
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babs A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crosthwaite_House, Manager at Crosthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Hello, many thanks for your review...that must be some kind of record for how long ag the visit was :) very kind of you to stop by and write down your thoughts for us. Sam and I took over the running of Crosthwaite House a few years ago, taking over from his parents Robin and Marnie. They remember you staying! Things have changed quite a lot since then, but we like to think we're keeping the standards high! Hopefully our guests will remember us for as long as you have! Best wishes to you all x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews