We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food is consistently good, but the service is not...”
Review of Booths

Booths
Ranked #111 of 148 Restaurants in Kendal
Price range: US$3 - US$13
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: large coffee shop under Booths supermarket in Kendal. there is a café menu and sandwich, cakes, soft and alcoholic drinks available
North West
Level Contributor
95 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Food is consistently good, but the service is not...”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

This is a restaurant I have been too many times. Perfectly placed in the centre of Kendal underneath Booths supermarket, there is a car park and you can get the first hour back of the bill. The food is always good, a lot of locally sourced ingredients, it’s a little pricy but if the quality is consistently good, I don’t mind. BUT, the service is shocking. This is not a place to go if you have any time constraints whatsoever! That said, there are some members of staff who are friendly and efficient, you just have to pray you get one of those. Saturday was a classic example, lots of staff floating around but it took ages for someone to take our order, then ages for someone to clear the plates. We were going to order dessert and coffee but we simply did not have the time and I was losing the will!!!!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank blueyonderNorthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    60
    46
    51
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England, UK
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very impressive.”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We ate here for the first time and were very impressed with the friendliness of the staff and quality of food. The length of time for the meal to come was also good. The fish and chips were presented in a way I have never seen before, very original. Will definitely eat here again when in the area.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank CustomerReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 11 February 2012

staff friendly and courteous. Very pleasant surroundings . The food was fabulous! The chicken parfait was probably the best starter I have ever had. The fish and chips were perfect , chips hot and chunky and the battered fish fluffy and crisp, the vegetable linguine a delight . Our only dissappointment being that we coulndn't manage a dessert.

On top of this starters and or desserts purchased with a main course were half price!

The restaurant was quiet and it is a shame not more people have discovered such a super place to eat!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth_hogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East Coast
Level Contributor
81 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Nice place for lunch”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We had lunch at Artisans, which is right underneath Booth's supermarket - taken to our table by a nice young lady with a local accent - no problem there for us, but might be for a southern 'incomer' who expects everyone to speak like the cast of 'East Enders'.
The menu is ideal for lunch - ranging from light bites to substantial meals. I had fish and chips with mushy peas, and I have to say that it was excellent. My son and daughter had the meat and fish platters, which were a) huge and b) very good indeed with plenty of delicious bread. With a nice bottle of plonk at a reasonable price, we had an excellent lunch. A nice touch is that many items on the menu - such as the wonderful local bread - are for sale at the counter. There are plenty of high chairs for toddlers, who seemed to enjoy the good food and cheerful service as much as we did.
The only problem - polished wooden floorboards look nice but are VERY noisy whenever people move their chairs.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank ChristoJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Husband and I had beautifully presented fish and chips. Staff and restaurant excellent and well organized. Artisan is in Booths Supermarket and is open till late serving good food. Well done!!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Booths also viewed

Carnforth, Lancashire
Penrith, Eden District
 

Been to Booths? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing