We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Friendly Guest House"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ivy Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ivy Guest House
Ranked #3 of 23 Hawkshead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"Friendly Guest House"”
Reviewed 3 November 2011

The guest house (now called Ivy Guest House) is in the perfect location for a stay in the Lakes. Walking distance to pubs and restaurants in the evening and close to the Langdales for beautiful scenery and walks. The breakfast is lovely with plenty of choice but finishes quite early (9am) for those who fancy a bit of a lie in at the weekend! The ensuite rooms are beautifully presented and spotlessly clean with some lovely homely touches. Darren and Roz are both very welcoming and helpful and work hard to make sure their guest have a comfortable stay. I highly recommend this guest house and will definitely be back for a longer stay some time in the future.

Room Tip: Ring ahead to request a room with a shower if you prefer one as some rooms only have baths and hand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacAlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    28
    5
    0
    4
See reviews for
50
133
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Very warm welcome, room very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was excellent Darren and Roz couldn't be more helpful and freindly. We had a lovely peaceful and relaxing 2 days can't wait to go back. Caroline and Brian

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle,UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

This place is now called 'Ivy Guest House' and was re-opened in June this year (2011) after a significant face-lift and new owners.
From booking to leaving, the place was spot on. Roz and Darren are the perfect hosts. The building is stunning, the staircase beautiful, the food scrumptious and the rooms very, very comfortable.
A very warm and friendly welcome awaits you. It is by far one of the best BnB's we have ever stayed in. You will not be disappointed. We were sad to leave! I can't praise this place enough.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryNewcastle_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Very clean rooms, nice bathroom and Darren and his mum were more than happy to help and made us feel very welcome. Would certainly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: We stayed in the family room which was a lovey spacious room with a 4 poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connor_Dylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We can definitely recommend staying at the Ivy House. There is plenty of free off road parking and the rooms are very comfortable and very clean (some with 4 poster beds). There are plenty of options for breakfast, but I can definitely recommend Darrens Full English. I have to say I have never stayed anywhere were I have felt so at home and been made to feel so welcome. Roz and Darren are great hosts. We are looking forward to our next visit even if it is with the in-laws!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuart g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawkshead
1.8 km away
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 23 in Hawkshead
215 reviews
0.0 km away
Queen's Head Hotel
Queen's Head Hotel
#5 of 23 in Hawkshead
448 reviews
0.4 km away
Walker Ground Manor
Walker Ground Manor
#1 of 23 in Hawkshead
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Sun Inn
Sun Inn
#10 of 23 in Hawkshead
331 reviews
3.0 km away
Buckle Yeat Guest House
Buckle Yeat Guest House
#3 of 5 in Near Sawrey
146 reviews
0.1 km away
The Old School House
The Old School House
#8 of 23 in Hawkshead
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Guest House

Property: Ivy Guest House
Address: Main Street, Hawkshead, Ambleside LA22 0NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Hawkshead
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ivy Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Ivy Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivy Hotel Hawkshead
Ivy Guest House Hawkshead, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing