We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely food....”

Queen's Head Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Queen's Head Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 20 Restaurants in Hawkshead
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 15 October 2018

we had a little trouble with one of the waitresses, who had problems understanding our orders, but this was soon rectified by another member of staff, and would not deter us from going again......

Thank Stella60_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens H, Manager at Queen's Head Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Stella60_10,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We look forward to welcoming you back through our doors again.

Kind regards,
Alex Staveley
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (921)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 922 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

We had dinner on two separate nights at this wonderful establishment. Food was fabulous on both nights and the experience was made even better by the very friendly knowledgable staff. What made it even better was our dog was able to be with us. This made our holiday in the Lake District a wonderful one. Would recommend it to all, booking is advised as it is very popular.

Thank Fiona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens H, Manager at Queen's Head Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2018

Hi Fiona D,

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review. We are so thrilled to hear that your holiday in the Lake District was wonderful. We do hope to welcome you back for more wonderful times

Best wishes,.
Alex Staveley
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

Decided to eat here after a having drinks. The staff were excellent and very friendly. They also were able to cater for my girlfriend who is gluten and dairy free. A nice local pub which I would thoroughly recommend going to

Thank faudes2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens H, Manager at Queen's Head Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2018

Hi faudes2012,

Thank you very much for such a lovely review. It's always a pleasure to read when our guests have enjoyed themselves. I shall pass on your comments to our team as I know they work very hard to deliver great service and will appreciate your kind words.

Kind regards,
Alex Staveley
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018 via mobile

Disappointing after such a good meal and great pub and they should deserve a good 4/5 really.
But to be refused to accept Bank of Ireland legal GBP sterling tender. Seriously people! When are establishments going to get a grip and educate themselves that Bank of Ireland and Scotland is not different to Bank of England.

IDIOTS!! Totally offended. Maybe we’ll refuse your notes when you head over to NI or Scotland.

Thank LAPTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens H, Manager at Queen's Head Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2018

Hi LAPTB,

Thank you for your review. It's lovely to hear you enjoyed your meal and the pub environment while at The Queens.

I can only apologise for your choice of currency not being accepted at the time, I do however feel your choice of words about our staff being "IDIOTS" is offensive, especially as you mentioned in your comment that we deserve a 4/5.

Feel free to contact me by email or phone if there is something I am missing as our aim is to ensure we offer the best hospitality in the area.

Should you decide to visit us again, I can ensure you that the Bank of Ireland legal GBP sterling tender will be accepted.

Kind regards,
Alex Staveley
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018

We booked this for four of us on a Saturday ( yes, you expect it to be busy ) and they saved us a table for 6 pm as they said after 7pm it was booked so we needed to come a bit earlier. We were staying nearby and duly arrived.

We had a pleasant young lady serving us who was a great help, so this was positive. There were a reasonable selection of dishes even if they were rather pricey. That said they are catering for the tourists.
On enquiring however, about 75% of them contained tarragon, which two of us were allergic to, so our choice was very limited. We would have left, but at this time on a Saturday, most places would be full. No problem with tarragon for those who like it, but to put it in most of the dishes is somewhat strange.

My wife opted for lamb, I for a lamb tagine, my nephew a burger and his wife sea bass. Food came an looked appetising, but small portions. Again my wife's lamb was OK, but small, the sea bass was certainly not worth the price tag.

My tangine was about the size of a shop bought steak pie with a small piece of flatbread. No couscous, nothing. it tasted fine, but was predominantly apricots and sultanas, as the lamb must have gone through it on stilts there was that little, so this in our opinion was b very poor value !.

We opted for a desert. A shared ice cream and two coconut pannacotta. Unfortunately, you either get this right and it 'wobbles', or it's that stiff its a solid mass or that soft it collapses. Ours was the latter. Not a pleasant experience.

Such a shame, and at over £90 with two expensive drinks it was not a good evening ( The rest of us drank water ) and certainly an expensive one which we would not wish to repeat.

By the way on the way out 3 lads come in on spec for a table and the guy said ours was free now so they could take it!....No problem but so much for the 'we have it booked after 7pm !!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DrMalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Queen's Head Restaurant also viewed

Hawkshead, Ambleside
 
Hawkshead, Ambleside
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Queen's Head Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing