We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (609)
Filter reviews
609 results
Traveller rating
587
20
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
587
20
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews truffle homemade biscuits home made cakes patsy mike tarn hows on arrival lake district tea and cake bay window attentive hosts guest lounge country house local knowledge perfect hosts sense of humour surrounding countryside warm welcome
Filter
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 609 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2016

Very quiet and peaceful setting, but not far from Hawkshead, Coniston and Ambelside, so good base to explore the area. Spacious and spotless room with view of the beautiful garden. Friendly and really helpful hosts who are very knowledgable about their area in general and walking options in the Lake District in particular. Cake on arrival:-) Only downside for single travellers: Single occupancy room rate relatively high, but I knew that when booking and did not regret my decision. I can definitely recommend a stay with Patsy and Mike.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sibylle_Augsburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeenBeen, Owner at Summer Hill Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2016

It was lovely to meet you. We are glad you had a good visit, (...in spite of the referendum result on your second day!) Hopefully we will see you again some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Summer Hill B&B was the perfect spot from which to visit the southern parts of the Lakes District, especially Beatrix Potter's Hilltop Farm. Mike and Patsy were great hosts, with a great sense of humor, especially for us Yanks visiting England. Breakfasts were a perfect set-up for the days we spent in the area with our daughter and granddaughter.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeenBeen, Owner at Summer Hill Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2016

It was a pleasure to meet with you. We enjoyed our chats and hope that you might return sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Mike & Patsy made our stay very enjoyable, they have a first hand knowledge of the surrounding area & local events, the breakfast is fantastic & they were very accommodating for my father who has mobilty problems, location is great ,Hawkshead, Coniston & Ambleside are within easy reach.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeenBeen, Owner at Summer Hill Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2016

It was our pleasure to look after you and your Mum and Dad for the week you stayed with us. We are glad that your needs were met and that you had a great holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2016

We have just spent two nights staying at Summer Hill whilst attending a wedding in Hawkshead. From the moment we arrived to leaving we had a really nice, pleasant and lovely stay. Location is excellent, very peaceful and our room was really comfortable and well appointed. Mike and Patsy couldn't have been better hosts making us feel very welcome. I would be very surprised if you could find a better place to stay in the Lakes. I have no reservations in thoroughly recommending staying here. It absolutely deserves its high rating. Thanks for everything.

Room Tip: Rm 4 has a bay window with lovely views
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Eagle7345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeenBeen, Owner at Summer Hill Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2016

...and thank you, for this very positive appraisal. We appreciate your comments and are very pleased that you had a lovely stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2016

All I can do is reiterate what the other reviewers have said. If you are wanting to stay in the Lake District then look no further than Summer Hill. As soon as you arrive, nothing is too much trouble for the fantastic hosts, Mike, Patsy and Gracie. From tea and cake on arrival, homemade goodies in the room really comfy beds, well appointed rooms with all the amenities that you would need and a great breakfast.
We were blessed with great weather during our visit, which makes the Lakes even more beautiful. There are some great walks right on Summer Hills doorstep.
I look forward to my next visit in the near future.

Room Tip: All the rooms our family occupied were fab.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gavsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeenBeen, Owner at Summer Hill Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2016

Thanks for your really positive comments. We are glad that we were able to make your experience of staying here a pleasant one, even down to arranging the excellent weather... :)



Gracie says 'Hi!'

( Actually she said 'Wuff!"- which essentially means the same thing...)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews