We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Thorney How(Grasmere)(Great Value!)
US$161
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$154
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oak Bank Hotel(Grasmere)
US$236
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lancrigg(Grasmere)
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe(Grasmere)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$513
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Chestnut Villa(Grasmere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunmail House(Grasmere)
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,284)
Filter reviews
1,284 results
Traveller rating
495
453
223
74
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
495
453
223
74
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfeature roomexecutive roomlake districtblack puddingwalkers barlovely hotelnight porterevening mealthe general managerfour poster bedcooked breakfastbreakfast was excellentone night stayhelm craggreat weekendshort breakenjoyable stay
Filter
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 1,284 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2017

We paid over £480 for 3 nights' "treat" and we were disappointed. The shower head in our executive room (3, at the front, with a view and complementary bath robes and slippers) was absolutely filthy (black and slimy), even though the room smelled of disinfectant. When we complained we were moved but to a much smaller (and very hot) room at the back of the hotel, room 22, which had a clean shower but cobwebs on the walls and peeling wallpaper behind the radiator. The mattress was soft and sagged in the middle. There was no view, no bathrobes and no slippers and yet the hotel insisted this was also an executive room...!!! When we complained we were given a £40 discount. The restaurant menu is the same as the bar menu, and not in my opinion a fitting menu for a restaurant in a hotel such as this. The food was very average and overpriced. The staff were courteous and helpful, but this hotel looks uncared for and scruffy. We won't be going back.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

I was amazed at this hotel --- it has no elevator, but you can get around the floors, bar, lobby area and rooms on either the first or second floor with no problem. Loved this place for a one-night stay. Staff was friendly and accommodating.

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank Jeanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

I know it was a Saturday, and this is Grasmere, but £140 for a single room to me seems excessive. Paying this kind of money ought to guarantee a good night's sleep. It certainly would at a Premier Inn, and for a lot less! However, I was woken several times by banging fire doors, and nearby room doors that seemed to need to be slammed to close properly. Maybe a manager should try sleeping in a few rooms to discover these problems and act upon them.
We did not stay for dinner here. The bar area looked dark and uninviting. The food I saw being served looked dull and uninspiring, and again, overpriced.
Breakfast was very good, particularly the pain aux chocolate. It was disappointing to find that some dishes - smoked haddock, for example, were only available for a £5 supplement. Surely at their prices they are having a laugh.
So overall, I was left with the feeling that this hotel was overpriced, hence the three stars.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BillyBunterBeverley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

With Grasmere heaving with people we were looking for a place to park and a quick bite of lunch. Having travelled through the town centre without a chance of parking we came up to the junction with the A591 and the Swan was directly opposite. The banners stated food served all day and free parking was available in the large car park alongside - a win win!

The lunch menu was varied and my wife chose the Chicken Caesar while I had the Chicken Club. Both were good quality with plenty of chicken.

Service was prompt and although busy we located a table quickly. The only gripe was the price of £36 (with a pint of bitter and a Bacardi and Coke).

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Lederz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights and feel this was outstanding for a 3 star hotel.

Our one criticism was the bar where the prices were unjustified - we paid £14.50 for a double gin and tonic and a pint of draught bitter and heard that a glass of wine was £11. So, if you would like a drink, either go elsewhere or be prepared to pay over the top. The bar itself was no more than average, bare boards to the floor and unwiped tables to sit at.

Otherwise, nothing but praise for this establishment. Our room had a really comfortable large bed and was serviced daily to a high standard. It was quiet with windows out to the well-kept garden. The breakfasts were just how they should be, cooked to order, promptly served and a delicious start to the day.

But the outstanding feature was the staff. Every individual seemed so helpful and friendly, not just to us as guests but between themselves also. It was good teamwork, they seemed to cover for one another so the service was seamless. Many a deluxe hotel could learn from this performance which is all the more commendable as we learned their manager was off sick after a heart attack but clearly he had put routines in place that ensured everything worked well when he was absent.

When next we return to the Lakes we won't be looking for anywhere else to stay.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews