We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (255)
Filter reviews
255 results
Traveller rating
129
78
32
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
129
78
32
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews four poster bed overlooking the river ground floor room dining room tired and in need sister hotel other hotels lake district nice stay ample parking stayed for two nights rooms are large leave the car free upgrade full english would stay again ideal location
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 255 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2018 via mobile

I was a bit apprehensive after reading some reviews however we found the hotel absolutely fine . Positives : lovely and quiet even though the hotel was fully booked we weren't disturbed by other guests , ample parking , fab staff , good breakfast . We booked a superior double and ended up with a four poster bed which was a nice touch . I would say looking at the other hotels in grasmere this place was at the lower end price wise so it's a good hotel to use as a base to explore the lakes . Overall no issues at all with our stay it did the job fine with really welcoming staff . Only improvement would be to the bathroom , the shower pressure was extremely low so for somebody like myself who likes to wash their thick hair everyday it was a small issue .

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Vicki762013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

Ok where do I start, for the amount charged, you’d expect working internet, decent bed, a shower that had some semblance of water flow, heck even a box of tissues, not here. Rooms were dated, small, like small even compared to a cruise ship small. On a plus note, bar/ dining staff were great, as well as the food.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

We had a nice stay in a comfortable room facing the river and the place is dog friendly. Everything worked fine and the staff were friendly. The place was a little tired in places but we really liked it

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank marysas93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018

Our first time to stay in Grassmere as we usually stay in Ambleside. The hotel was gorgeous and the staff so professional and friendly.
We had our small dog with us and they ensured they looked after us and sorted out a table for us to have our breakfast together in the lounge area.
They also made sure we had a ground floor room to accommodate our mum.
The hotel is on the river and we had amazing views from our bedroom including seeing a heron each day.
We will definitely come back and stay here. Can't wait.

Room Tip: ask for river view
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2018 via mobile

My partner surprised me by deciding to go to Grasmere for an overnight stay in the Lake District. The location and location were absolutely gorgeous. We arrived at the hotel around 8pm as we forgot about the Tour de Yorkshire but still receive a very friendly and warm welcome. The lady at reception was very helpful and recommended somewhere we could still eat. The room was beautiful, by the side of the river and I haven't slept this well in ages! The breakfast was a selection of fresh fruits, fresh croissants and pain au chocolat, cereals and cooked breakfast to order.
I would absolutely recommend this hotel and will definitely be returning again.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Cyrielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews