We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little restaurant, beautiful food and the friendliest service in the Lakes!”
Review of Lewis's

Lewis's
Ranked #9 of 48 Restaurants in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 8 November 2018

We came without reservation and got lucky with a table for four. As we are all foodies it's sometimes hard to find new gem's but this was a true find. Good culinaire choices (which weren't overreached as you sometimes find out too late) on the menu with local produce and all cooked and presented to perfection. Very nice wine list at good prices and lovely deserts. All of that wrapped in a warm blanket of a cozy restaurant with a staff that runs it with real pleasure and joy. Will be back every visit to the Lakes from now on XX Thank you Scarlet for making it a real experience to remember. See you next time :)

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sillycow77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (826)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 826 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

We are six friends staying in Grasmere for a couple of nights and decided to visit Lewis’s as a change from the dinner in our hotel.
Tuesday night and the place was almost full. It is not a massive menu, but has been obviously carefully thought out and offers something for everyone.
We had a variety of dishes and can honestly say everyone was very impressed. Every dish was lovely, the waitress was friendly and efficient and we had a lovely evening.
Highly recommended.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank C9798OJchristinec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

Spent a few days in Grasmere and at random chose Lewis Bistro for an evening meal. What a total delight and food heaven.
Not surprising it was almost full on a Tuesday evening.
Delicious food, for us to ‘fine dining’ standard and wonderful service.
Can’t recommend more strongly.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank d0nfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2018 via mobile

My wife and i dined here on Saturday and i cannot speak highly enough about this place. it was very quiet when we arrived as it was absolutely pouring down and obviously put people off going out, this however didn't dampen the spirets of the staff and we were greeted with a warm welcome.
The waitress who served us was very nice and friendly and gave us plenty of time to have a drink before we orderd our food, we did notice there is a real good vibe with all the staff here and the chef (she is also the owner i belive) which makes for a really nice relaxed atmosphere.

As for the food i can honestly say its one of the nicest (if not the nicest) meals out we have ever had, i had scallops to start which were obviously fresh and were brilliantly cooked with amazing flavours, my wifes chicken pate and steak for main was equally as nice. The lamb steak i had for main was nicest lamb ive had with amazing dauphinoise potatoes so tasty! great produce cooked perfectly . i wish this place was down the road from me!
seriously great job guys, we will deffinatly be back next time we are in the area!

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank ryanmejones1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

We had an evening meal here about three years ago just after this bistro had been taken over. It was first class so we did not hesitate to return.
Closed on Mondays otherwise we would have been several times however best not to work seven days a week and be able to keep up the standards.
We were of course not disappointed. The staff were very welcoming and the food was top quality. Be warned though it is essential to book as this place is so popular.
Well done to the owner and their staff - keep up the great service and standards of food.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lewis's also viewed

 
Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 

Been to Lewis's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing