We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful cottage in a perfect location.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Miner's Cottage

A sunny start in Coniston
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A sunny start in Coniston
A garden with a view....enjoy the sunset with a glass of wine Roomy lounge, but cosy and warm with a log burner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
A sunny start in Coniston
A garden with a view....enjoy the sunset with a glass of wine
Roomy lounge, but cosy and warm with a log burner
Dining Kitchen
Fully Equipped Kitchen
Large Kingsize Bedroom, with comfy memory foam mattress
Comfy Twin Bedroom
Family Sized Bathroom.
Large downstairs WC
Utility room for washing & drying, and handy for kicking off those walking boots
The quiet and relaxing Terrace Garden, looking bak at the cottage.
Wintery View of Coniston and the Old Man: Jan 2015
A cool November day on Coniston Water
Our stunning Views
Views of the Village from the Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Coniston, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
thomas095
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage in a perfect location.”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a flawless week staying in Miners Cottage. It was everything we could have asked for! Cosy, clean, well equipped and in a great location.

When we arrived, everything was spotless. The kitchen was well equipped, and the added extras such as the docking station and washing machine were very useful. The wifi was great, especially for planning our day and keeping in touch with home. Nice to have a good TV and DVD player, we enjoyed relaxing watching Breaking Bad in front of the roaring log fire! We bought logs from the neighbour down the street. Reasonable and lasted all week.

The parking and street were tight, but we have a Land Rover and managed fine! The designated parking space easily fitted two cars. The front garden was lovely. Very well kept and nice to have a big table and chairs. Wonderful views too, which were lovely to wake up to. The back garden/area was good too, enough space for the dog to go out in the morning. Nice to see the birds feeding, and also enough room for a disposable BBQ!

The cottage is in a great location. Just a ten minute walk into the centre of Coniston town / the Coniston Lake & Bluebird Cafe and lots of lovely walks! Also a short drive to Hawkshead/Grizedale etc. BP with Spar off licence & chip shop nearby which are very handy.

Would absolutely recommend this cottage. Really perfect! So pleased with it and had a great week, thanks :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort
Liked least: Brace yourself for the steep hill leading up! Not a problem at all, but it is a quite a hilll!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen p
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Dream cottage in a stunning Location”
Reviewed 24 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We pulled up outside Miners Cottage on a dark wet Friday evening and upon opening the door the kids were whooping with delight and excitement. We instantly felt at home in this cottage and the toughest part of the trip was saying goodbye to the place!
The cottage has everything you need for a relaxing holiday and the owners have done a wonderful job in restoring it.
The views from the bedroom windows are awesome and with the added advantage of a comfy window seat in each one this soon became the place to sit and read a book or simply admire the view.
We got our wood supply from No 30 and the log fire was a hit with all of us especially the dog!
So much thought has gone into making sure the cottage has everything you need including local history books, games & an ipod docking station/radio. We had arranged for our shopping to be delivered on the Saturday and made good use of the slow cooker which was a blessing to come back to after a full day walking.
This was our first visit to Coniston & Miners Cottage and it wont be our last.
The Black Bull became our favourite drinking hole as after a full days walking we found the staff & locals to be incredibly welcoming and the real ales were epic!
As previously mentioned yes the cottage is high up but as long as you are reasonably fit the views you get make the hill more than worthwhile and the kids never found it a problem.
Wonderful stay in an outstanding home from home. Wish we could go back tomorrow.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views & the modern comforts
Liked least: Nothing it was perfect
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Visitorto...
Buckinghamshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The perfect spot to enjoy the natural beauty of Coniston”
Reviewed 16 January 2014 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Miner's cottage was so warm, clean and comfortable it was a real treat to spend a holiday there. We enjoyed many fabulous walks from the cottage, cosy and welcoming pubs/cafes in and around Coniston, and relaxing mornings taking in the views over the lake.
It was a great holiday and we are very keen to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The area, and coming back to a warm, dry home.
Liked least: The gardener
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra H
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful cottage in a beautiful part of the country”
Reviewed 16 January 2014 for a stay in September 2013

A superb cottage, well equipped, clean with fantastic views over Coniston. Bit of a steep walk back from Coniston town but not a problem for average person!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and everything about cottage!
Liked least: car parking space was down road abit (not really major problem!)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: stunning property
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing