We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“nice”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Blea Brows

Entering the courtyard!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entering the courtyard!
Cosy woodburner! New comfy two seater sofa and 'firm' supportive armchair - for ease of dismount!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
58 reviews
Entering the courtyard!
Cosy woodburner!
New comfy two seater sofa and 'firm' supportive armchair - for ease of dismount!
New comfy two seater sofa!
(as promised!)
New comfy three seater sofa.  (As also promised!)
Hallway
Double bedroom
Twin or double bedroom
Further twin or double
Kitchen
Kitchen table
View across the courtyard
View from the landing
The new patio and garden furniture!
Down by the lake
Lake shore beach
The lake shore in winter.  Not much beach but plenty of snow!
View down the lake - Fairfield
Wildcat Island!
Blawith Common beach to walk to!
...and the same view in the snow!!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Coniston, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
North Cou...
northumberland
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“nice”
Reviewed 30 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

a ice little cottage set in the middle of woodlands, a lovely woodburner, well equipt and very comfortable. The cottage is a short walk from the lake, a tip would be to take maps of the area for walks as a lot of the surrounding area is private. Coniston is aprox a 5mile from the cottage, there is a pub 2 mile from the cottage, but the road is busy and blind in places so don't try to walk this especially in the evening.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the quietness
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2013
Thanks for your constructive comments! We're always looking to make it as easy as possible for tenants. We'll certainly look into the map situation. I think the 'resident' maps may be past their best! Phil and Kate Okeden
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeanette...
herts
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“cosy lakeside retreat”
Reviewed 20 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Blea brows is a lovely cottage tucked away from the hustle & bustle of normal hectic life. tastefully decorated, very clean & tidy, comfortable and equiped with everything you need. it has a lovely log burner that we made use of one night, not because it was particularly cold, but because it made it exta cosy. i would recommend this cottage for the reasons already mentioned, but particularly for the fact that you feel you are off the beaten track, although many attractions of the lakes can be easily accessed from here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cosy and very close proximaty to the lake. also well equiped
Liked least: if i was being picky, i wasnt to comforable that there was no telephone, & as there were no signals on any of our mobiles, im not sure what we would have done in the case of an emergency.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2013
Thanks Jeanette,

We're really pleased that you had a good stay! I agree with you - it's lovely to put the log burner on just to make it even more cosy! It is quiet too. It gives you a chance to catch up and recharge your batteries! I know we do when we go! Thanks again for a lovely review. Hope to see you again. Phil and Kate.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Reviewed 11 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The secludedness of the property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Apr 2013
Wow! What a lovely review. Thank you so much for being so kind. We're really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. It sounds like you did a lot of exploring! There is certainly a lot to see and do in the locality and we're delighted that you enjoyed it as much as we do! Thanks again, Phil and Kate.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Log burner and cleanliness of cottage
Liked least: No wifi connection and poor mobile signal
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Jan 2013
Thanks Sue. What a lovely comment! We're so pleased that you enjoyed yourself. It's very special to us and we really appreciate it when other people enjoy it too. Thank you for taking the time and effort to add your comments! I'll pass on the comments to our excellent housekeepers who provided the decorations. Hope you have a great New Year and don't forget, any 'returners' will get a discount!!

Thanks once again,
Phil and Kate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tynemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the log fire
Liked least: pub wasn't walking distance
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Dec 2012
Thanks guys. What a lovely review! Glad you enjoyed your stay as much as we like going there! We're trying to make it as homely as possible and it's lovely to hear that you feel the same about it. Sorry about the bin bags. That's actually a legacy from the old system and now they're not needed! We'll amend the details asap. Thanks for the reminder. You are most welcome to stay again, and we'll give you a good price for being such friendly tenants! Cheers, Phil and Kate.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing