We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (344)
Filter reviews
345 results
Traveller rating
147
93
52
35
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
147
93
52
35
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews travel lodge bar cafe overnight visit real credit budget hotel lake district family room petrol station one night stay plenty of free parking excellent location good size first floor good nights sleep comfortable stay short stay northern lakes
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 345 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2018 via mobile

I booked the room for one night for a family of four, staying close to family. The evening we got there the girl on reception confirmed we were a party of 2 adults and 2 children then told us which room we were in. There was a double bed and one single bed in the room, so I went back to reception to ask for it to be sorted and it took a few minutes for the reception to understand why I needed an extra bed!! When we got back that night the new bed was full of stains on the sheet, the bedroom needed a good vacuum and it was just depressing and basic (I know travelodge is basic but I have stayed in travelodges that are very nice). All of the beds were extremely uncomfortable and we all had a rubbish nights sleep. We had no hot water for the duration of our stay, and we got told the boiler can’t cope with peak times and is due to be upgraded. We received a full refund but I would of preferred to be notified beforehand and I would of made alternative arrangements. We went to the premier inn across the road to eat as the restaurant was small and depressing. When visiting again o will definitely be booking the premier inn.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Evie2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Joe from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Cockermouth, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Thank you for submitting your review of our Cockermouth Hotel.

We're so sorry to hear your room was not up to the usual high standard of cleanliness and that your stay was affected by the lack of hot water.

We would like to hear more about your stay with us and would kindly invite you to contact us via the 'Help' section on our website section including your review and booking details.

Many thanks once again and we look forward to hearing from you shortly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018 via mobile

Stayed one night while in the area for business. The attached cafe is small and a little depressing, no music, no atmosphere and average food.
The room was Ok but could have done with a good clean, it wasn't terrible but the mirror was dirty, there was dried on food on the desk and the carpet needed a vacuum.

Overall for the price it was Ok but I didn't return for a second night instead checking into another local hotel.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
Thank lmw728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Cockermouth, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Thank you for submitting your review of our Cockermouth Travelodge. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we would like to apologise that your room was not cleaned to our usual high standard. We will be sure to pass your valuable comments to the hotel to ensure that the service we provide improves. May we thank you again for your feedback and hope you stay with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

It’s basic but it’s adequate as a base. Snacks and drinks including alcohol available in the cafe bar and the breakfast was good value for money. Room was clean, tidy, quiet and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. If you know what to expect you won’t be disappointing it is was it is.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

We stayed here after using a discount code and the room cost us £13 so obviously for that reason it's a five star review. In terms of Travelodge its a decent one which is located 5 mins drive from Cockermouth. For breakfast go to the garden centre over the road it was a brilliant little find.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Rhys D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

There was no hot water, it was absolutely freezing on the Friday evening to the point we couldn’t have a shower/bath the baby at all, by the morning it was a bit cooler than lukewarm. We had an appointment on the Saturday morning so didn’t have time to complain. The breakfast was horrendous (especially for the price!) the fresh orange juice was totally watered down - we poured it out of th machine and watched it all separate ... for the price it wasn’t worth complaining about .... however, honestly for an extra £15 ... we should have stayed at the premier inn opposite ...!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank julisan2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Cockermouth, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our Cockermouth Travelodge, we are thankful for your comments. Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues encountered during your booking. The experience you received concerns us and we would like to investigate your stay further.

Please may we kindly ask you to contact our Customer Service team via the 'Contact Us' page on our website. Please include a link to your review and your booking details. This will enable us to look into your visit more thoroughly with our hotel team.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and giving us the opportunity to adjust the service and facilities we provide our guests. We look forward to hearing from you shortly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews