We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely wonderful stay!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Skiddaw

Southwaite Green in its setting
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Southwaite Green in its setting
Summer at Southwaite Green Skiddaw with its upper level terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Southwaite Green in its setting
Summer at Southwaite Green
Skiddaw with its upper level terrace
Skiddaw
Kitchen and snug areas
Skiddaw  interior
Sit in the captain's chair and admire the view
King size bedroom
Twin or king size bedroom
Bedroom detail
Marble and heated mirror in a shower room
Footbridge over the beck
Picnic place up by the pond
Wild flowers in the woodland
Southwaite Green from the road
Solar panels for hot water
Buttermere over the lavender bed
View from Skiddaw's terrace
Barbecue area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Cockermouth, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Margaret...
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful stay!”
Reviewed 19 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We stayed in skiddaw and enjoyed every moment. Very clean, beautiful views from every window, kitchen had everything we could possibly need. Wonderful walks around the property. Had coffee and cocoa on the deck almost every morning. Beds were comfortable. Close to all Lake District sites. Really would have liked to stay longer, will plan for longer stay next time. Sister loved the mirrored lights in the bathroom. Plenty of parking.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It's beauty and peacefulness
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Panorama1...
Nailsea
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We have stayed in the Lake District a few times now and decided on this occasion to stay in the countryside of Cumbria rather than by one of the more popular lakes which we have enjoyed but wanted to try something different. We loved the accommodation and the natural grounds which we very much enjoyed coming back to after a day out. The house was modern and comfortable with lovely views of the fells. We will definitely be returning. Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saddleworth
Reviewed 9 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 May 2014
Thank you for the lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sheila c...
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A very special place to relax”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We had a wonderful week self-catering at Southwaite Green at the beginning of April. On arrival Marna gave us a most friendly welcome. The accommodation was very comfortable and well equipped. We quickly got used to its efficient eco underfloor heating! The upside down living is an excellent idea to take full advantage of the great views of farmland and fells in all directions. Being able to walk in the young woodland before breakfast and hear the bird song was indeed a bonus. Southwaite Green is well situated for a great variety of leisure activities - fell walking, easy rambling along the river paths, walking along the Cumbria coast, visiting the coastal towns e.g. St Bees, Whitehaven or Maryport, and nearby Cockermouth and Keswick. We didn't want to leave and we definitely plan to return.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing