We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A brilliant venue for both adults and children”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Skiddaw

Southwaite Green in its setting
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Southwaite Green in its setting
Summer at Southwaite Green Skiddaw with its upper level terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Southwaite Green in its setting
Summer at Southwaite Green
Skiddaw with its upper level terrace
Skiddaw
Kitchen and snug areas
Skiddaw  interior
Sit in the captain's chair and admire the view
King size bedroom
Twin or king size bedroom
Bedroom detail
Marble and heated mirror in a shower room
Footbridge over the beck
Picnic place up by the pond
Wild flowers in the woodland
Southwaite Green from the road
Solar panels for hot water
Buttermere over the lavender bed
View from Skiddaw's terrace
Barbecue area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Cockermouth, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Michael W
Godalming
1 review
“A brilliant venue for both adults and children”
Reviewed 16 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We had a relaxing and comfortable stay in this very clean and well appointed eco-friendly house set in beautiful grounds. It is an excellent location for exploring one of the most beautiful parts of the Lake District. It was an ideal place to be with our daughter and her family who were staying across the yard in Beckside. We found Marna extremely helpful and welcoming.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole eco-friendly set up and landscaping.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hetty2
Northallerton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“5* luxury in beautiful location”
Reviewed 12 June 2013 for a stay in September 2012

We stayed for 6 nights in Skiddaw, one of 4 eco-friendly cottages at Southwaite Green. Marna, the owner, was extremely welcoming and even provided free bottles of local beer, chocolate and a delicious fruit loaf on arrival. The accommodation is immaculate, with large ensuite bathrooms and a lovely modern spacious open-plan living area upstairs. The natural landscaped grounds are perfect for dog-walking and very peaceful with lots of birds and wildlife. We loved just sitting out on the patio area in the evening sunshine enjoying the peace and mountain views. The location is ideal for walkers, with the beautiful Buttermere valley just a few minutes drive away. A real gem.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shashi244
Sedgefield, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent location, lovely views and very clean”
Reviewed 10 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We had a lovely time with young children. Very beautiful location and very clean and comfortable. Would love to come back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina R
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent accomodation in an area of natural beauty and serenity”
Reviewed 3 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

My husband and I loved this holiday accomodation. Skiddaw had everything we needed for a restful and relaxing break. Skiddaw itself is beautifully designed and it catered for our needs and was also spotless. We were made to feel very welcome with the Plum bread, ale, chocolate and flowers. We were not alone in our opinion of both Skiddaw and the surroundings as our dog had a great time, she even had her own bowls there. Everything was well catered for and well laid out. It added to the holiday experience and gave us a few ideas to take away about greener living.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being able to go for walks from the property rather than driving somewhere first
Liked least: Only having booked 1 week there instead of 2
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsH75
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fabulous quiet and picturesque venue, great host and beautiful accomodation.”
Reviewed 27 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012

This is my fifth stay at Southwaite Green. I have also stayed in Beckside which along with this cottage, Skiddaw, I can highly recommend. The houses are beautiful, spotlessly clean and well equipped and the venue is very, very pretty. We stayed over Easter and were able to do a fabulous Easter Egg hunt for our two young children in the extensive grounds,which includes a barbecue at your disposal and tennis court. The beck is also great fun for the children to explore. We always leave Southwaite feeling thoroughly relaxed and revived. We all love it here and will be returning again in future. The cottages are fantastic for both couples and families and it's a good spot to explore the best that the Lakes has to offer too. Owner Marna Milna is also a wonderful host. While she leaves you to yourself during your stay you can contact her any time and she lives on the site should you need anything.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2012
What a lovely review! Thank you very much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing