We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
27
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
1
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2017

Had another fantastic weekend at The Old Homestead. Great house for family gatherings. Hope to book again soon. Very clean and contains everything you might need, Good location. Unfortunately can't arrange weather !!

2  Thank martinbahlaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2015

This house is truly amazing. Expensive but worth every penny. My family and I had a ball. The owners were helpful and informative as well as lovely. The views were so gorgeous and Cockermouth had everything that we needed. Home deliveries from Asda made our lives easier. Brilliant and safe for children. Right in the middle of the lakes so every corner is picturesue. Every bedroom was ensuite and enough room for 20.

Room Tip: All brilliant
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2015

25 of us stopped at the Old Homestead for a long week end.

The owners where there to great us on the day of arrival and gave those first to arrive a guided (and very useful) tour of the home.

On arrival there is ample parking for circa 10 cars and when you walk into the property you will be wowed by the finish and the detail of the building.

Downstairs there are 5 bedrooms, a huge lounge and dining room that can easily house all 25 members of our party and a kitchen.

Upstairs are a further (from memory) 5 bedrooms.

The bedrooms are a mixture of doubles, triples, twins etc.

The kitchen is well provided for in regards to Crockery, Pots and pans etc and contains a huge fridge and seperate freezer.

The garden is masive and if youre there when the weather is nice and with your children they will easily spend all day there.

We were worried by the noise 25 people could generate but as the building is an old converted barn

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mokolpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2015 via mobile

We had a weekend surprise special birthday celebration. All ages and all sorts of health and ability levels. What a great weekend. The accommodation is to a very high standard. All ensuite. Amazing views. The owners were so helpful with all information I asked for. Minor issue with kitchen lights and it was resolved in no time and without any inconvenience to our stay. Would highly recommend and hope to return very soon. Thank you x

Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We booked the Old Homestead for a friends get together over a long weekend. The property itself is excellent and is set in some beautiful countryside. The photos on the website really don't do it justice. It has a real premium feel to it without losing the rustic ambience that a stay in the lakes should have.

Location wise the Old Homestead is set on a farm directly next to the owners property. It's about 5 mins drive from Cockermouth and supermarkets/restaurants etc.

If you are looking for somewhere for a birthday party or family do then the Old Homestead is ideal. It has the space to keep everyone together without ever feeling cramped. We employed external caterers to cook for our party of 21. There was more than enough room to do this comfortably and we were able to seat everyone arond one long table which was nice.

The bedrooms themselves are well presented each with ensuite. We didn't have any arguments over who got what room as they are all spacious and extremely comfortable. If you've done the group trip thing before, you'll know how important and rare this is!

Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WalkersFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews