We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
17
7
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
7
1
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

Poor value for money.... I wanted art tuition and to learn something! Anything! and a bit of away-from-home luxury! Distinct lack of!

I learned nothing and paid over £200 for day and a half of nothing ... would have been better spent painting in the garden at home watching a YouTube video. What a bore! Bored tutor with poor teaching skills and very uninteresting; group too large, no team cohesiveness; accommodation adequate but very basic, tho food nice but most staff distinctly disinterested. What a disappointment. Sorry Higham but just not good enough.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Higham H, Manager at Higham Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

We are very sorry that you have felt so disappointed in your experience of the Higham art course you attended. Your feedback has been carefully noted, as we do take all feedback we receive seriously. You were evidently expecting something different from the course, the people, and the facilities at our adult residential college. Some issues might have been able to be addressed in a professional manner whilst you were here, had you brought them to our attention at the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

I have stayed at Higham Hall four times now and really enjoyed every stay. The location is beautiful, the accommodation characterful and comfortable, the food superb and the Stained Glass course excellent. Bill's teaching and guidance is brilliant. I will definitely be back!

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dawn297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Higham H, Manager at Higham Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Thank you - and Bill is one of our most valued Tutors, as well as being an extremely nice gentleman to deal with. We hope to continue to entice him up from the Wirral as long as we can!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

Had the best time did s week workshop with Susan Christopher coulson doing pencil botanical drawing it was fabulous The foods great and it's like staying in a country house not a hotel highly recommend

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank lorrainem134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016

Exquisite Lake District Escape. Close to Bassenthwaite Lake & three easy miles from Cockermouth. Peace and Isolation assured. 3* accommodation spotlessly maintained throughout. Fabulous home cooked food. Essentially a Residential College running Workshops & Course opportunities for Adult Learners, there are often spare rooms available as B&B. The Gardens are magnificently maintained and all the staff are VERY approachable and accommodating. Small warm and cosy Bar available in the evenings. A vibrant place!!!

Date of stay: October 2016
4  Thank PadraigOCruinneacht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016

A visit to Higham is a total treat. The staff are fabulous, the home cooked food is great and the courses are many and varied. The location of Higham is just stunning. Whether you attend a course or just base yourself there and visit the local area expect to feel determined to return.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pauline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews