We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (815)
Filter reviews
815 results
Traveller rating
562
166
52
22
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
562
166
52
22
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstroutderwent restaurantoverlooking the riverterrace barexecutive roomlovely hotelafternoon teahigh standardlakes distillerypublic areasthe main streetwine listlarge bathroomthe ground floorfantastic stayhigh streetexcellent food
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 815 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

Not too impressed with the afternoon tea here. We had three afternoon teas to cater for 3 people yet were only given one pot of tea. The teas we put down within minutes of us walking in but it was served where other people were dining and the whole room had a very fishy smell i can only guess thats what someone was eating but i felt there wasnt a nice atmosphere like ive had with other teas.
Staff are pleasent enough but you saw them as soon as you arrived and that was it, an hour later we had to go looking for soneone. I asked for boxes as we couldnt eat everything, normally staff offer to pack things up for you to take but we had to ask a few times for a staff member to them just put flat boxes onto the table. Not the fantastic service we are used to and im not one to normally give a bad review but i wont be returning for afternion tea

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018

Had a great overnight stay. Lovely hotel with good staff. Evening meal and breakfast in the Derwent restaurant were first class. Our room and the rest of the hotel was comfortable and tastefully decorated. The underfloor heating in the bathroom was an unexpected bonus. Definitely worth another visit. Lesley from the housekeeping staff was very helpful during our stay.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank hoddy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

‘Best fish and chips I’ve ever eaten’ family’s food just as good, could have been a little more attentive when we walked in but I’m being picky.
Not cheap but about slightly more than average for Cockermouth

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Mr_Benevolent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Beautifully decor in this hotel, very stylish and warm.
Loved everything about this hotel. Big comfortable room overlooking the river Derwent. Large bathroom with heated floor.
Felt very homely.
Amazing food in the restaurant, again can not pick one bad point.
Many hotels fall short on accommodation, service or food but not this one.
I would recommend this hotel.
Well worth the money in my opinion.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sean r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Lovely hotel which is very nicely done out.
The rooms are very clean and well presented. Staff friendly and helpful.
Ate in the bistro which was excellent quality and value.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and location is great for the town centre

Stayed: March 2018
1  Thank 321KSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews