We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (840)
Filter reviews
840 results
Traveller rating
578
171
55
22
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
578
171
55
22
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews trout derwent restaurant overlooking the river terrace bar executive room lovely hotel afternoon tea travelzoo deal a la carte menu high standard public areas the main street lakes distillery the ground floor wine list large bathroom evening meal
Filter
Updating list...
220 - 225 of 840 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2017 via mobile

We had a half price slip. So it as £28 not £56, lovely setting, amazing hotel. Top quality . Not sure it was worth full price. We had 2 cake stands so plenty of cakes not so many sandwiches . Unlimited tea and coffee , the coffee was instant ! The waiter was attentive .

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank zanzibat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017

Returning to this hotel has been such a pleasure with the new refurbishment of rooms providing the comfort and style we have come to expect. Nothing is too much trouble for this team whose excellent customer service is one of the reasons we return again and again.
How refreshing it is to have a cooked breakfast comprising great local products and piping hot rather than the lukewarm overcooked presentation by other 4 star hotels. Requests for off menu items at dinner were excellent and provided without fuss- the sign of a great kitchen team. Housekeeping vigilant and at the top of its game and receptionists as always providing a warm generous welcome.

Room Tip: Riverside suites very spacious and quiet
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lymers2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017

The trout has always been a firm favourite with the family, and we really need to go more often, haven't been since the floods but wow what a lovely refurbishment they have done. This place is modern but traditional and serves locally sourced food and a great environment without all the pomp. The food is lovely, it's great cuisine, and a fair price for the portions you get. Just what you need after a day up the fells, locally sourced butchers meats, and fish so the waitress told me and a firm passion for what they serve. The waitress a young lady called Charlotte was very informative of the menu and the drinks, she was very attentive but not over baring and couldn't do enough for us and the tables around us, a good example of happy staff customer service as it should be. The trout menu seems to change every time we go but there is always a good home comforts meal to be had and always some lovely desserts if you can manage to squeeze one in. The grounds and inside are lovely and it is an all round favourite for us to eat there when we are in Cockermouth

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HomeIsCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

After flood damage in recent years, The Trout has been refurbished to a high standard. Our party of 20 were looked after very well, the staff were very friendly & helpful and the food was of a high standard.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank mproctor02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017 via mobile

Visited the Terrace Brasserie where we had lovely food. The staff were rather aloof and access to the Brasserie was via a minimum of 2 steps whichever way we tried to get in & out. Not very disability friendly! How can anyone in a wheelchair get I to this restaurant.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews