We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveller rating
108
56
26
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
108
56
26
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rose garden evening stay function room smart hotel wandering around english lake district couldn't do enough daughters wedding comfortable night fabulous views nice meal non residents amazing hotel cumberland sausage wet room salmon portion sizes
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 204 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

We have just returned from another wonderful stay in this hotel. The location is superb with Cockermouth and Keswick close by.
The views from the hotel are admirable and the owners are making great improvements to the wonderful grounds with a raised rose garden and a gazebo on the lawn. The gardens are so beautiful and quiet and are surrounded by horses and sheep.
The hotel is full of charm at every turn. The staff here are exceptional and give attention to every detail.
We ate in the hotel bar on both evenings and were surprised by the reasonably priced food for the portion sizes, quality and taste.
We would most certainly recommend this hotel for a short or long stay if wanting a hotel with scenery and charm in The Lakes.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

We were given the use of the Bridal Suite for free as we held our afternoon and evening receptions here. We got such a surprise when we walked in as the room was stunning. There was a lobby area with drawers / cupboards and a large separate bedroom with sofa area. The bathroom was huge with a big walk in shower and the room even had its own private terrace with fantastic views! We had a comfortable night sleep until early morning when something was tapping hard on the patio door - a crow. We got up and shooed it away but it can back an hour later unfortunately. We couldn’t work out what was going on until we realised the outside of the door was mirrored so it was pecking at its own reflection! The top of the patio doors also don’t have curtains on so when it gets light the room obviously gets bright. If you are a light sleeper this may bother you. We had a lovely night in this room - I don’t know how much it would cost normally but it was fantastic that we got it included. Breakfast was served in the function room again. They had arranged a load of tables together so that any of our guests that were also staying over could have their breakfasts together. The breakfast menu has lots of choice on it and I ordered the soft boiled eggs. Unfortunately one was actually still raw inside but it was replaced no problem with plenty of apology. The time window for getting breakfast was quite short and the check out time is quite early, but this wasn’t a problem for us. I’d love to come back and stay in the same room for a special occasion - even if we just live down the road!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acs1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile

Attended a wedding here and was impressed by the food and overall organisation during the reception.
Evening stay was in a well appointed and spacious room.
The breakfast in the morning was 1st class and consisted of a large choice of well cooked items.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank werw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017

Access to all areas with wheelchair is excellent.Room with wet room spacious. Carparking close to the room. All staff helpful. Breakfast a joy cooked to order. Non residents welcomed for dinner and made to feel welcome despite being a large group.

Room Tip: Wheelchair accessible ground floor
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margaret s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

I have stay 4 times and find something new each time I visit. If you like "Shire Horses" you will this place, they breed Clydesdales. Its out of Cockermouth so you will need a car but if you want a drink you can always get one of the local taxis.

Room Tip: The ground floor outside wing is newly built and offers breathtaking views.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidaysR4meandU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews