We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
317 results
Traveller rating
148
112
37
15
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
148
112
37
15
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews manager dan sunday carvery lovely hotel some tlc two nights evening meal overlooking the garden home cooked old house steak pie lake district portion sizes family run piping hot dinner menu two night stay hotel is situated
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 317 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2018

Stayed here for two nights on business. Firstly I received a very warm welcome. My room was very comfortable and large and the hotel is set in picturesque surroundings with peacocks in the gardens. Free parking is plentiful and wifi good. The food can only be described as superb with large portions that are perfectly cooked. I especially recommend the steak with REAL homemade chips and a delicious peppercorn sauce. A Special treat is the carvery (Thurs & Sun) which is full of choice with delicious tender meat and lots of lovely fresh veg. Overall a highly recommended place to stay and/or eat.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lord E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

Stayed 5th-7th Jan, myself, husband, son and daughter in law and 5 year old grandson. Fab value for accommodation and food, very welcoming and clean- lovely roaring coal fire too. This is our second trip here and will definitely be returning, highly recommended.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

Looking for somewhere for Sunday Lunch we decided to give Broughton Craggs a go. Having eaten at many of the local
Places for Sunday Lunch & having owed several food establishments in the local area, I am happy to say we were not disappointed.
The staff are fantastic & friendly, The Sunday Carvery offered a fantastic choice and interestingly only put small amounts out at a time to ensure the food was both fresh and hot, and the plates were warm too!

I will be returning and giving the early bird, three courses for £10 a go.

Definitely worth a visit if you are a tourist visiting the area or live in West Cumbria

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank j8myk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017

Stayed here for one night in their double room overlooking the front terrace. Not many people this time of year, though that suited us just fine. The manager was affable, talkative, and very accommodating. He wasted no time in showing us to our room, gave us our space, and was there for every request. The room itself was clean, extremely spacious, and the enormous four-poster bed was a very nice surprise.

Extremely quiet during the night, no light pollution or traffic noise to speak of, so we both slept soundly. Excellent facilities attached to the room, equipped with Spartan (though sufficient) toiletries and other necessities. Would have been nice to perhaps have a shampoo and conditioner, some soap, etc, but this is a minor quibble.

Great 'big' breakfast the following morning, with enough coffee, juice, yoghurts and other things to feed a herd of elephants. Very substantial, and cooked to taste.

Easy to travel to neighbouring towns, just a few minutes in the car.

Overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

Booked room 11 for a 3-night long weekend. 4-poster bed with the most amazing views down the valley. Clean room with fresh sheets. Mrs B and I have stayed at this delightful, full of character hotel on a number of occasions and have just booked a further 3 visits for 2018. Breakfast is plentiful, wide variety of foods to eat and the full English is very tasty served on hot plates. Evening dinner menu was varied and the Sunday Carvery was yummy with lashings of home made gravy. Hotel is situated in great location to venture out during the day. If you are looking for a relaxing stay, a warm welcome with tasty home cooked food (homemade chips to die for) then stay at the family run broughton Craggs hotel. We love it.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Themasterfixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews