We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
53
9
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
53
9
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews parking permit new owners car park across the road steak restaurant staff were all very helpful priced hotel needed a place to stay fab breakfast lovely hotel listed building bed was very comfortable breakfast staff the room was nice family wedding cooked breakfast stay there again lovely weekend
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 65 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were recommended to this by one of the locals that we came to visit. We were
ecstatic that we got the room with all the ancient exposed beams and four poster bed. Even got to see the fireworks on Bonfire Night. Easy walk to everything, wonderfully friendly help!

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 361larryp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

Such a lovely hotel, dogs are welcome, you can have a local Cumbrian breakfasts, beautiful rooms, its nice to see the new owners are fully restoring this stunning 300 year old building. Recommended to everyone!!!

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 300hannahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

We had an exec and small double room, both spotless and with everything you need. Fast WiFi, easy parking, good location and staff were amazing. Couldn’t fault it. So good for families and food is so great too.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 332coles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

Stayed here at the weekend & what a beautiful hotel it was. Very modern but still lovely and homely, perfect for the lakes. Room was beautiful and the price was even better. Staff were all very helpful and attentive.

Would 100% recommend.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Curious05499122734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2018

Stayed for 1 night in room 217, this was a tiny room no bigger than a box room, very dark and old furnishings definitely dated and needed refurbishing.
The entrance door to the room was loose fitting and rattled. The bedroom was that small you couldn’t walk around the bed and the room was very hot and stuffy, I tried to open the window but it was either painted or nailed shut!
The toilet was not fixed to the floor and would not flush properly it took several attempts. The shower was over the bath which had no safety hand rails and was in my opinion dangerous to get in and out of as there was no slip mat in the bath.
The television signal caused constant pixilation so wasn’t watchable.
After we had parked and paid for parking we checked in to be informed we could of had free parking if we had asked for a permit! Which was a bit late why not inform your customers earlier?
With over 30 years in the travel industry and staying in many hotels this is probably one of the worst rooms I’ve stayed in the only positive are the staff are friendly.

Room tip: Definitely not 217
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey J, General Manager at The Allerdale Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2018

Hi Julie,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. Sorry to hear that your stay with us wasn't up to standard. The hotel has recently come under new management therefore some of our rooms are yet to be refurbished. We appreciate you bringing these problems to our attention and we have already fixed the problem with the televisions.
We do provide parking information and details about our parking permits in our confirmation emails that are sent to our guests upon booking.
Thank you for your lovely comment about our team, they all work very hard to provide the best levels of service.

Kind Regards,

Tracey Jones.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews