We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
53
9
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
53
9
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews parking permit new owners car park across the road steak restaurant staff were all very helpful priced hotel needed a place to stay fab breakfast lovely hotel listed building bed was very comfortable breakfast staff the room was nice family wedding cooked breakfast stay there again lovely weekend
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 65 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2018 via mobile

Amazing stay friendly staff! nice to see improvements happening in the hotel and the bedrooms.
Exceptionally clean and a very inviting place.
A home from home.
We will return for future stays here.
It’s looking and feeling great good luck for the future.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank lauracripps1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

Stayed for one night and was pleased with the facilities and service. Breakfast was excellent! Room was spotlessly clean and well-appointed.

Couple of tips - don’t pay for parking in the car park opposite - you can get a permit free from the hotel. Also, the restaurant is booked-up at weekends so pre-book a table when you book the room

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank alanyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

I recently stayed here with my wife to visit some family, after staying elsewhere but visiting "BLOCKS" for food previously we figured it would be easier for us to stay in the ajoining hotel as we knew we would be dining there again.

This turned out to be a great decision as the room we got was beautiful, clean and quiet. The staff could not have been any nicer, Nothing seemed like too much trouble and they even made a big fuss of our dog who was allowed to stay with us in our room!

We will be staying here every time we visit cockermouth from now on. Such lovely staff and a really enjoyable stay.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank James8692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018

Stayed one night, Saturday, with four other couples. Reserved a table in the attached Blocks restaurant prior to arrival.
Hotel staff were all friendly and welcoming. The room was very clean and comfortable. The bar was nice as was the restaurant.
No car parking directly outside, but public car park is just accross the road and free if you get a permit from the Hotel front desk.
Hotel is very well located to visit the Lake District or West Cumbrian coast and being just outside the National Park I would guess better value than comparable hotels in say, Keswick.
Breakfast was tasty and bountiful.
As stated above, we reserved a table prior to arrival and when confirmation was received from the hotel, they had attached a form to be completed and submitted with what everybody wanted to eat. At first I was put out by this as you don’t always know weeks before what you’d like. It was also difficult getting everybody’s choices before hand. However, once this was done, and forwarded to the hotel, on the night it couldn’t have been better. The meals arrived together, hot and delicious. Everybody in our group cleared their wooden board. (Personally I prefer a plate but it didn’t spoil the meal at all).
WiFi reception was free and good but sadly the TV reception was not. Not all mainstream channels were available and those that were, were unwatchable because of a weak signal. All of our group mentioned the same problem so I assume it is a fault in the hotels distribution system. However this did not spoil our stay in any way, I mention it only because the rooms were advertised has having TV and it should work.
All in all a great trip that we will certainly like to repeat.

Room tip: Our room, 201, was ground floor, at the rear, very quiet and access to a little secluded courtyard.
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

On the whole we were thoroughly disappointed with our visit. We were in town for the Taste of Cumbria but fancied somewhere nice to sit and have dinner where my wife could breastfeed in comfort. The surrounding were beautiful and the staff very friendly. Unfortunately the menu had been limited to two choices, pulled pork burger or sirloin steak in a bun, clearly vegetarians weren't welcome!

When the drinks and meal came everything was served in polystyrene even though we were sitting inside and the sirloin steak was no more than a few ounces served with a dozen or so chips. Not what you expect for £10!!

Also there were no facilities for baby changing unless you wanted to roll out your mat on the bathroom floor.

Have to say we won't be rushing back any time soon.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ChunkybutPicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey J, General Manager at The Allerdale Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2018

Dear Sir/Madam, I'm sorry to hear that you were not happy with the service you experienced in our restaurant. We do not open lunchtimes but wanted to join in with the community celebration for Taste Cumbria as it's a big event in our town. We did have a limited selection which was advised to yourselves before you sat down. In regards to the facilities, the hotel has recently been taken over by new owners who are looking into installing a baby changing facility into one of the single bathrooms. Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews