We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
53
9
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
53
9
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews parking permit new owners car park across the road steak restaurant staff were all very helpful priced hotel needed a place to stay fab breakfast lovely hotel listed building bed was very comfortable breakfast staff the room was nice family wedding cooked breakfast stay there again lovely weekend
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 65 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

On the whole we were thoroughly disappointed with our visit. We were in town for the Taste of Cumbria but fancied somewhere nice to sit and have dinner where my wife could breastfeed in comfort. The surrounding were beautiful and the staff very friendly. Unfortunately the menu had been limited to two choices, pulled pork burger or sirloin steak in a bun, clearly vegetarians weren't welcome!

When the drinks and meal came everything was served in polystyrene even though we were sitting inside and the sirloin steak was no more than a few ounces served with a dozen or so chips. Not what you expect for £10!!

Also there were no facilities for baby changing unless you wanted to roll out your mat on the bathroom floor.

Have to say we won't be rushing back any time soon.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ChunkybutPicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey J, General Manager at The Allerdale Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2018

Dear Sir/Madam, I'm sorry to hear that you were not happy with the service you experienced in our restaurant. We do not open lunchtimes but wanted to join in with the community celebration for Taste Cumbria as it's a big event in our town. We did have a limited selection which was advised to yourselves before you sat down. In regards to the facilities, the hotel has recently been taken over by new owners who are looking into installing a baby changing facility into one of the single bathrooms. Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018

I recently stayed at the Allerdale Court, the owners and staff were very friendly and the service I received was fantastic. The new restaurant was beautiful serving amazing food. Top chef! I would highly recommend staying at the Allerdale and enjoying the restaurant experience. Thankyou so much. Nigel

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank 822nigelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018

Decided to spend a few days in the Lakes based in Cockermouth. Chose the Allerdale because had used it frequently some years ago when working in the area and liked its' quirky charm and friendly owner.
The hotel had changed owners in the last six months so it was interesting to see any changes. The hotel is much the same, some cosmetic alterations but nothing significant.
Room was fine but a few minor issues could make it more enjoyable. Had to ask to get the heating turned on as the second evening the room was a bit cool to sit in. This was quickly rectified so no problem. The television, though very modern seemed to suffer from loss of signal each evening which required it to be set up each time. Again not a huge problem but a little frustrating. Also minor issues like no tissues or glasses in the room could make the experience better.
Food was definitely a good point. Breakfast was excellent both in quantity and quality, though had to wait 25 minutes for an available table on day two of the 3 day stay. Possibly more breakfast staff needed when the hotel is full?
Only had one evening meal in the restaurant and this was also excellent, good steak and tasty, quality chicken.
Though the hotel has no car park the owners provide complimentary parking permits in the public car park a few yards away. Nice touch!
Would have been a 5 star rating if not for the minor issues. Would I return? Certainly and hope the new owners focus on the hotel side of the business as well as the restaurant to just iron out the minor irritations.

Room tip: All rooms are different and quirky but most are large.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

Second visit in just over a month, very friendly and helpful staff, breakfast is brilliant, a good solid English breakfast.

A great selection of gins and beers, Batman is very knowledgable in this area.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Getaway561921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018 via mobile

It was part of a treat for my partners birthday as we visited the Lakes Distillery which we well recommend esp the 1hr tour and afternoon tea both were excellent. We arrived at the hotel after our visit there and were welcomed by a lovely friendly female receptionist who checked us in easily and quickly and directed us to our room which had an impressive four poster bed which was fairly comfortable-princess and the pea story came to mind! It needed a little bit if updating esp in the bathroom dept but all was v clean and well presented and great view of the high street. The hotel is in a great position very central for everything. Breakfast was fantastic best we've had in a long time and we do visit alot of places so that is a high accolade. We didn't eat in the restaurant as our distillery afternoon tea was so filling but it looked very busy which is a good sign. The staff were all well trained polite and helpful-a credit to themselves. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and if in the area again will stay here-thank you

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank KHHyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews