We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (640)
Filter reviews
640 results
Traveller rating
423
177
31
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
423
177
31
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buffet style ice machine car park dvd player good size superior room selection of dvds top floor plenty of choice would definitely stay here again underfloor heating comfortable bed room was large pubs and restaurants excellent location four poster bed poached eggs
Filter
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 640 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

From the minute we arrived we knew this place was a gem. The 2 ladies working throughout our 2 nights stay were lovely and helped us map out our walks by lending us leaflets and books. We did a lovely walk and saw rydal cave so thank you for that! We were upgraded to superior room, which was beautiful. Lovely room, biscuits and hot chocolate however only 1? Bathroom was lovely shower was fab! It is nice to find somewhere that puts the heating on! The breakfast was also fab, sausages were great, bacon cooked to perfection for me (maybe slightly overcooked for my partner) fried eggs and scrambled eggs were the best we've had! Overall a lovely stay, and even better they provide dvds we will definitely be back. Thank you for making our mini break fabulous xx

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank beckyandarchie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrjhewitt, General Manager at Lakes Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2017

A lovely review and thank you so much for taking the time to write it. We at Lakes Lodge are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we do hope to welcome your return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

We had previously stayed in the superior dog friendly annexe rooms and thoroughly enjoyed our stays. This time we were travelling home through Ambleside after a break in Scotland and decided to book a last minute room for the night. Our room was in the main house on the second floor (as no dog this time) and was very clean, comfortable and had great views of Ambleside and surrounding fells. The delicious buffet breakfast has a great selection of hot and cold food which is freshly cooked and replenished frequently. The location is great as only a few minutes walk to shops, pubs, restaurants and cinema. Also, there are plenty of walks starting on the doorstep which is another advantage to the location. Can't recommend enough.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Topcat220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrjhewitt, General Manager at Lakes Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2017

A great review and Thank you so much for taking the time to write it. We do hope that you join us at Lakes Lodge again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2016

Stayed here a few times now they have a car park to so that's good.
rooms are very clean and very nice , breakfast is brilliant all you can eat buffet you just help yourself to as much as you want scrambled egg is a scrummy staff are always friendly and helpful anything you need they are on it .

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Franceska R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrjhewitt, General Manager at Lakes Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2017

Thank you. We are so pleased that you choose Lakes Lodge as your base for your stay in the Lakes and we hope to welcome another return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2016

lovely place, we had a great view from our bedroom (room 10) and buffet breakfast was very nice
staff friendly and pleasant.
location is very good near to ambleside centre, pubs and restaurants , worth a visit

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank suzanne2669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrjhewitt, General Manager at Lakes Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2017

Thank you kindly for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Lakes Lodge and hope to welcome your return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016

We booked at the last minute having stayed previously at the sister hotel, Lake House previously. Lakes Lodge is well located on the edge of the town and is convenient for walking in for meals and shopping. The room we had was a good size at the rear of the hotel with views to the hills. It was well appointed with a bath and shower. The heating was excellent, if anything too hot, so we turned it down.
Breakfast was good with a self service buffet and catered for my gluten free wife. Filter coffee was available during the day too.
Wifi was good with a strong signal
Hope to stay again

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chester14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrjhewitt, General Manager at Lakes Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Lakes Lodge and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews