We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (647)
Filter reviews
647 results
Traveller rating
476
129
31
9
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
476
129
31
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden room filtered water spa bath porridge lake district smoked haddock mr and mrs breakfast menu car park breakfast staff breakfast was excellent high standard five minute walk family room single room lovely bathroom self catering
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 647 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

Large car park. Very warm welcome. Immaculate room with ensuite facilities. Free complimentary filtered water with tea/coffee facilities and lovely biscuits. Free WiFi. Breakfast cooked to order with delightful waitress service. Every choice of food covered. Beautiful food served perfectly. Lovely knowledgeable and smiling staff. All a credit to you. Would highly recommend

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Valerie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Valerie,
Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write your review. I cook breakfast each morning, with help from either my husband Raymond or with our wonderful manager Rachel, so your comments were very much appreciated. And our other lovely members of staff keep the place clean & tidy and serve breakfast. Trust you had a safe and pleasant journey home and we do hope we will be able to welcome you back to The Fisherbeck in the not too distant future. Kind regards. Gillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

I cannot praise this hotel and the service enough. Rooms are beautiful, location is ideal, staff are so attentive and friendly and the breakfast is probably the best hotel breakfast we have ever had with a huge choice and high quality ingredients. well done.
Ambleside is beautiful and charming and the surrounding natural environment is stunning. What a wonderful few days we had.Will definately return.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write your much appreciated and very complimentary review. We mostly appreciate your recognition of our wonderful staff who work very hard and we could not do this job without them. And we are indeed blessed with a fabulous location having great views of the surrounding fells and being just about half way between the shops and restaurants in one direction and the lake in the other. We do hope we will be able to welcome you back to The Fisherbeck in the not too distant future. With kind regards. Gillian Lane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

I am not sure how many times we have been to the Fisherbeck but it is now well into double figures. It is one of our favourite hotels. Always very clean and tidy and with pleasant staff who are always courteous and helpful. The owners have never let their standards slip which sadly cannot be said of many establishments. Breakfast is always well presented and cooked beautifully with a very good selection. I still have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone visiting Ambleside,

Room tip: The balconies are usable even in less than perfect weather and offer a pleasant alternative to relax on after a days walk.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank i_calvert84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write your review and we are thrilled that you still come to stay with us after so many visits. We do try to maintain standards of cleanliness, hospitality and service and therefore very much appreciate your comments. But we could not do this job without our very dedicated team who do their best for us and our guests. We do hope it will not be too long before we can welcome you back to The Fisherbeck once more. It will be a pleasure. With kind regards. Gillian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

Really friendly and helpful staff. Amazing location right in the centre of Ambleside. Big breakfast selection which was yummy! Rooms however aren't very soundproof and we couldn't reach the wifi in our room.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank frankie_199322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Thank you very much indeed for writing your review but we are sorry you couldn't get the wifi in your room. We usually have good connectivity but at times poor weather and our three feet thick walls throughout this period building can hamper. So glad you enjoyed breakfast. Kind regards and hope we will see you again. Gillian Lane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

I don't normally write reviews but am doing so now because of the friendly and very efficient service at this good value hotel.

I stayed in a single room on the second floor that was fine for my needs.

Breakfast was well cooked and service was smooth

Room tip: Room 21 (single) is at the hop but very quiet as no immediate neighbours. Quirky two level room.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

We feel quite privileged that you would indeed take the time to write your review if that is not your normal practice. So thank you very much. We have just one single room and although not too large and located on the second floor at the rear of the building it has always been a favourite with returning guests who often comment how cosy it is and has the great advantage of a full en-suite bathroom. We do certainly hope we will be able to welcome you back to The Fisherbeck should you plan a future trip to Ambleside. With kind regards. Gillian Lane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews