We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (487)
Filter reviews
487 results
Traveller rating
362
90
14
9
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
362
90
14
9
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden suite swimming pool sauna and hot tub upstairs downstairs rothay park ice machine plates and cutlery robes and slippers dog owners on arrival tea and biscuits b and b added bonus mini fridge dog friendly hotel real bonus dressing gowns
Filter
Updating list...
178 - 183 of 487 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2016

We stayed in the Garden Suite for 4 nights mid January with our little dog. We had an amazing time loved the room, beautiful bathroom and fabulous breakfast. Great location for exploring Ambleside and surrounding area. Well recommended.

Very friendly, helpful staff. Would love to visit when pool open as it was closed for refurbishment.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PAMAGANorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldVic, Owner at The Old Vicarage, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2016

Hi PAMAGANorthumberland, thanks for your review. We're glad you had a great time at The Old Vic - we love the garden suite at any time of year. The outside decked area is handy and offers easy access to the garden. With regards to the pool, it was out of service to be relined ... it's hard knowing when to do it, but January is typically our quietest period. It's back on now though, so hopefully you'll be able to join us again in the near future. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2016

largest room ever stayed in, brilliant service, very good breakfasts, warm and cosy, room 16 on ground floor suited us as handy for taking dog out, private carpark, close to shops and park, worth paying extra few pounds to stay somewhere so nice, staff very friendly and helpful, good size fridge to keep supplies in.

Room Tip: room 16 good for disabled and/or dog owners
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RandCCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldVic, Owner at The Old Vicarage, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2016

Hi squidCheshire, what a lovely review! Room 16, being a ground floor room (and large) is often requested by regulars who like the easy access. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope that you'll join us again in the future. Thanks for taking the time to offer us your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2016

East Lancs Long Distance walkers association held their annual winter weekend away at the old vicarage. As usual we stayed for three nights in this very homely, friendly and well appointed bed and breakfast. The rooms are well equiped with lots of hot water for the wet walker. Nice lounge with open fire and a bonus of the extra facilities of hot tub, sauna and pool. This bed and breakfast is a must for any walking groups, you could not do better in amble side.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Viv L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldVic, Owner at The Old Vicarage, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2016

Hi Viv, many thanks for publishing your review. It's lovely to have returning walking groups to the B&B like yourselves. As you know, you don't have to go far to access the fells and get to the fantastic walking opportunities in the heart of the Lake District.
We do try to be 'homely' so are pleased that comes across ~ we see this as trying to strike the right balance between being friendly and being professional. It's important for groups that everything goes smoothly with their bed and breakfast and hopefully we'll see you and the ELLDWA again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2016

Stayed at the Old Vicarage for a long weekend at the lakes, on the recommendation of family and friends.
The owner was really friendly and the breakfast was lovely.

We stayed in 'Number 10' (one of the upstairs/Downstairs suites) and will definitely be returning, maybe to stay in the Garden Suite next time.

The pool was great too, decent size and we had it all to ourselves... and the hot tub!

Great for a relaxing weekend away.

Stayed: July 2015
Thank Naveed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldVic, Owner at The Old Vicarage, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2016

Hi Naveed A, while recognising that our two 'upstairs, downstairs' suites are not for everyone due to the stairs, we love them. They have a strong following now so make sure you get booked early for the garden suite ~ guests tend to love the outside decked area and the access to the garden. Perfect for a glass of wine in the evening! Room ten is great as well, with the lounge downstairs and the bedroom upstairs ... lots more space! We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2016

We've stayed at this bed and breakfast a number of times and have always enjoyed the location, amenities, quiet and the service. So we booked a 3 night New Year stay with two other couples to have a quiet turn of the year celebration. When we arrived in the late afternoon of New Year's Eve we were advised that the owners were having a family party. something not mentioned at the time of booking. This included a loud disco in the only lounge area and a group of young children running and shouting in the corridors. Not what we wanted or anticipated. The rest of the stay was fine (apart from the rain) but the noise of the party left an unpleasant stain on the whole stay. I raised it with the lady I paid and she apologised for my disappointment but offered nothing else. So lesson learnt - if we go back we'll check for potential parties!!! Then go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LandGSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldVic, Owner at The Old Vicarage, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2016

Hi LandGSmith, thanks for taking the time to write your review. We're sorry that your stay this time round was not completely to your liking. As with almost all B&Bs, we are family owned and run, so we very occasionally have a small family get-together and on this occasion, we happily invited guests to join us for a glass of wine. Obviously this was not your preference and should you return, we'll make double sure there is no family event happening. We are happy you enjoyed the rest of your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews