We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick cake before closing ”

The Giggling Goose Cafe
Ranked #63 of 129 Restaurants in Ambleside
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed 5 October 2018 via mobile

The lady very kindly let us order just as she was closing. We had two delicious pieces of cake and refreshing tea overlooking the river with our four legged friend. It was lovely.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Turnwood2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 541 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2018

Had lunch here , lovely food great services would highly recommend calling in dog friendly which always helps.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018

Nice place for break , the river side sitting is too relaxing , Nice setup, just in front of the Bridge house .

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank aditya k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

Lovely place to stop off for a brew! Lovely little place with quirky areas to dine, you can can sit outside and watch the fast moving stream, or go upstairs into the cafe area.
Had some lovely carrot cake!
Friendly welcoming staff, would visit here again

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Alison3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018

This place is lovely. Place your order inside, then find a table outside. There are two areas to choose from, one further down the path and one right beside the river/brook. We chose by the river, as the scenery is spectacular and very peaceful. We all had homemade soup, scones and tea. All were delicious. Be warned though, the large soup is very large. I had trouble finishing it. You have to pick up your own cutlery as you head out. It is a rambling structure and fun to negotiate. Make sure you look for the loo, it is a fun little adventure finding it. Sitting outside on a sunny day, enjoying the plants, birds and scenery can't be beat. A little oasis in busy Ambleside. Pleasant staff, but then again we had nothing but pleasant staff our whole trip.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mauilover_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Giggling Goose Cafe also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to The Giggling Goose Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing