We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Brathay Lodge(Ambleside)
US$237
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nanny Brow(Ambleside)
US$318
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakes Lodge(Ambleside)
US$194
US$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Regent Hotel(Ambleside)
US$271
US$258
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
YHA Hawkshead(Hawkshead)(Great Value!)
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
YHA Ambleside(Ambleside)(Great Value!)
US$215
US$187
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast(Hawkshead)
US$153
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (678)
Filter reviews
678 results
Traveller rating
457
149
47
16
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
457
149
47
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswonderful afternoon teacoffee and petit foursloughrigg suitedrawing roomtasting menuamuse bouchesuperior roomnew ownersoverlooking the gardenlake districtpublic roomsbreakfast and dinnerlovely hotellambwalk in showerroom was largehome made
Filter
Updating list...
167 - 172 of 678 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2017

Have had a lovely relaxing mini break at this hotel. Very attentive and friendly staff, lovely ambience and very comfortable. The prosecco on arrival was a lovely welcome. We enjoyed a game of Scrabble in the lounge with drinks and complimentary crisps and nuts. Will definitely return - thank you.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMHotel, Owner at Rothay Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2017

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to welcome you back sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017

If you are a foodie/ wine lover look no further - this is the Lake District hotel for you. The restaurant was amazing - a real experience, and the tasting menu is well worth a try, so many different courses and all so, so good! We had smoked mackerel served in a cloche with hickory smoke inside. Everything was delicious, particularly the chocolate dome which tasted just like Turkish delight.

Breakfast didn't disappoint either with the most elegant version of an English breakfast I think I'll ever see. I could rave on and on about the food... but the cocktails were just as good.

All the staff were so friendly, and the service was excellent. Our room was spacious and very comfortable, very clean, big fluffy towels and robes. We'll definitely stay again and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank laurenconway1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMHotel, Owner at Rothay Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are all so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hopefully you will visit us again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

The hotel was a 3 star for the room and a 5 star for food and service.
Our room, whilst of a really good size, was very 1980s in style and beginning to show its age. The bathroom was also rather dated and poorly lit. The shower was little more than a dribble.
The room had a large balcony and the bed was comfortable.
The only other negative was that we were woken at 7am by vacuuming on the stairs outside our room.
The hotel downstairs has been recently renovated and is much more stylish than the bedroom we stayed in. I understand that the rooms are also being renewed and should be much improved.
One area not in need of improvement is the dining. Our meal was fantastic - some of the best cooking I have experienced. The tasting menu was excellent value and every course a delight. Service was friendly and extremely professional. The wine list was very reasonably priced.
The hotel gets the balance just right - dining here really feels like a special occasion without being stuffy or pretentious.
We would definitely return but would ask for a refurbished room next time.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMHotel, Owner at Rothay Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2017

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the dining here at Rothay Manor! We do have a plan to improve all of the bedrooms, including the bathrooms. They are all comfy and spacious so once renovated should be much more to your taste.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Very nice location, no problem parking in hotel car park, hotel areas we saw were beautifully decorated and very comfortable having been recently refurbished.

Afternoon tea was absolutely delicious and well balanced. I won't go into too much detail as it might spoil it for others but you have a choice of many types of tea and the savoury selection was unusual and absolutly delicious!

Would certainly like to return for an overnight stay next time to sample the restaurant!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank lindalikesdislikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMHotel, Owner at Rothay Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2017

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea. I won't give too much away either, as our sandwiches are a little more fancy than the standard! We look forwards to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2017

From the minute we arrived at the hotel, we were treated like royalty. Our check in was very slick and we were personally escorted to our room. The room has been recently renovated and I have to say it was to a high standard and very comfortable. It had everything we needed-it was beautiful. We ate both on the A La Cate menu, the taster menu and breakfast. The atmosphere of the newly renovated dining room was very welcoming along with the service staff. The food was simply out of this world - so special and of Michelin standard compared to other Michelin restaurants we have dined at. The food was a very reasonable price for the quality. Highly talented chef. We were also impressed at the knowledge and talents of the resident Sommelier, we had some rather lovely wine, cocktails and port tasting. The staff were extremely professional throughout the entire stay and could not do enough to ensure your experience was nothing short of perfect. I would recommend the hotel and the restaurant to anyone, I will defiantly be visiting a gain very soon. Thank you for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Hayley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMHotel, Owner at Rothay Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. The tasting of Port is a favourite of mine too, so I am pleased you enjoyed it.
Please do some and visit us again sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews