We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (761)
Filter reviews
761 results
Traveller rating
698
44
13
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
698
44
13
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews arts and crafts whitwell suite home made cakes skelwith room drop scones lake district antique furniture beautiful house fabulous views original features fresh fruit salad homemade jams warm welcome smoked salmon roll top bath large bathroom langdale valley
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 761 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

Lovely boutique B & B. Arts and Crafts decor. Owner Sally very welcoming. Breakfast fantastic all fresh. A little out of Ambleside in walking distance 20 minutes but on main road some areas no path. Taxis £5 to centre if no car.
All staff excellent. Would absolutely recommend .

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank christinahB4754UM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan_NannyBrow, Owner at Nanny Brow, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Thank you Christina for your your review Im so pleased you found me welcoming on arrival and that your breakfast was fantastic.

We look forward to welcoming you vback soon.
Please remember that the best prices are always to be found on our website.

All the best

Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at the B&b in the Lingmoor room - great views of the lake District , very large bathroom with double shower .

Breakfast lovely , fresh fruit salad very good , home made jams and marmalade , yoghurts , cereals , lots of hot choices too.

We did a lovely walk from the B&b recommended by sue , lovely hosts

We came back to fresh cake in our room - very nice

Stayed: September 2018
Thank Ruth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan_NannyBrow, Owner at Nanny Brow, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2018

Thank you Ruth for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and especially the views,your room,the breakfasts home made cake left in your room each day and the walk from the back of us up onto the fells. Thank you also for posting the photos.

Please remember that the best deals are always to be found when booking directly with us either by phone or our website.

We look forward to meeting you again.

All the best


Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018

We honeymooned at the Nanny Brow when it was a country house hotel and had been back since but not for many many years. It was simply beautiful and has such a calming feel about the place. Susan and her husband have worked their magic and thoughtful touches are everywhere, such attention to detail,information, pictures and exquisite furniture. We stayed in the Whitwell suite which is gorgeous, we came back from breakfast on the day of our silver wedding anniversary to find the bed decorated with rose petals and a beautiful anniversary card. What a lovely surprise. I must mention the amazing breakfasts. Proper thick bacon and the best eggs poached eggs I've had in a long long time. The fresh fruit salad for breakfast is amazing, the effort that goes into the beautifully prepared and presented food is obviously and appreciated as well as the yummy cake/shortbread that appears daily for your room. Yummy! Also the choice of tea in your room is fabulous. We had a wonderful stay and look forward to returning. Ps the dogs and cat are delightful

Room Tip: View from Whitwell suite 1st floor is stunning
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank firecontrollady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan_NannyBrow, Owner at Nanny Brow, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Thank you for posting your review about your stay with us to celebrate your Silver Wedding anniversary. Its always so rewarding to hear from guests who stayed here many years ago and have such fond memories usually because it was for a special occasion like your selves having your honeymoon here 25years ago. To receive such a glowing review is a delight in every sense of the word. We are delighted that we have made your silver wedding anniversary so special and hope that you will return for other anniversaries or just because you love it here.

Please remember that the best deals are always to be found on our website and we look forward to welcoming you both back soon.

All the best

Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

There just aren’t enough superlatives to describe the Nanny Brow experience. The warmest of welcomes await from the hosts Sue and Pete, who go the extra mile to ensure that your needs are catered for. Their attention to detail is second to non with each of the rooms being individually decorated to the highest standard. Truth be told I’m struggling to find fault anywhere. The breakfast menu is extensive and super delicious, with everything made fresh to order. The drop scones with blueberries and maple syrup was to die for and the addition of the best bacon I’ve ever tasted was just heavenly. I can’t wait for my next visit; wouldn’t consider staying anywhere else. Thank you Sue and Pete.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank pcah2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan_NannyBrow, Owner at Nanny Brow, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Thank you for your lovely review and the many compliments you paid us all. As I am sure I said while you were here we have our bacon specially sliced so its thick "as bacon should be" according to a famous chef who stayed with us. Im a lover of the drop scones as well and often have then for supper.
We really appreciate your time posting this review and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the best

Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

Staying at this hotel for the second leg of our honeymoon was a real treat. The staff were so friendly in helping us plan the woodland walk behind the hotel and it made for a lovely end to our honeymoon. The food is lovely and freshly made cake is brought to your room each day. The décor and antique furniture makes you feel like Royalty, but it also has a down to Earth feel which some places of this stature may not necessarily have. The rooms are just stunning and we had wonderful views of the Fells from Lingmoor.

Highly recommended for anyone

Paul and Shell

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulPTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan_NannyBrow, Owner at Nanny Brow, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay with us. We are delighted we wee able to add to the magical memories of your honeymoon and be part of such a special memory. As you said the walk from our private gate up through the woodlands and onto the fells is beautiful. We also thank you for all the other lovely things you had to say about us and the house and furnishings.
We look forward to welcoming you back for your 1st wedding anniversary. Please remember that the best deals are always to be found on our website.

All the best

Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews