We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply superb!”
Review of Nanny Brow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nanny Brow
Ranked #13 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply superb!”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed four nights and wished it could have been much longer. The owners, Sue and Pete together with manager Mark, were absolute gems with top-class guest service and sheer professionalism. By the way, the home-made cakes brought to the room in the afternoon were to die for. Our room was huge, tastefully furnished with superb views of the R. Brathay meandering through the valley with thickly wooded sides and topped off by the high fells. Likewise, the bathroom was well appointed and huge. Sue's clever choice of Arts and Crafts-inspired decor together with period furniture and superb fabrics is a joy to behold. We particularly enjoyed admiring every little detail in taste not only in the house itself but also the food, which was chosen for its provenance and quality and was delicious. We will return!

Room Tip: All the letting rooms we were shown were equally well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    617
    39
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
33
537
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Easily one of the best three B+B's that I've visited in the UK.
Great food, rooms, architecture, staff, and location. Stunning views... I just wished we had a few more days to stay there -no hesitation in returning- it was Fab!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nick b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Years ago we stayed regularly at this gorgeous hotel and we loved it. We were thrilled to see that it had re-opened and couldn't wait to return. We went for my birthday this month and it is truly beautiful. Virtual perfection. There is nothing at all negative to say and we wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else when in the Lakes. Our room and bathroom were truly delightful and the sitting room and dining room to die for. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to the discerning of travellers - you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I stayed at Nanny Brow for 4 nights at the beginning of January, desperately in need of somewhere relaxing, chilled and with stunning views and I was not disappointed.
I travelled alone and stayed in one of their cheaper rooms, and it was just perfect- comfortable, beautifully decorated, lovely bathroom- I could go on! I took advantage of the winter discount and can honestly say it was one of the best breaks that I have had (shame about the weather mind!)
The breakfasts were worth the trip alone! I like my food, so can be quite picky, but the menu was varied and the food fresh and tasty, with generous portions too.
I would definitely go back- the rooms were beautiful and the building itself was welcoming, homely and perfect for a break in the lakes. If I could afford it, I would come here every year to get away from the stresses of the city. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMG G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Nanny Brow and from the moment we entered the B&B we knew we had chosen a great place to stay.Nanny Brow was recently refurbished and reopened in August 2010. The family who run it have kept some of the traditional features and have made it a real home from home. There is a delightful sitting room to relax in and they serve a variety of drinks including some locally made ale which is lovely. They provide a few walking books and magazines for you to look through and borrow. The breakfast room has a great view of the picturesque landscape and they provide everything you could ask for from cereal to locally caught smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. They also print out the weather for the day and have it available for you to read. The service was great and the owners are fonts of knowledge when it comes to te local area. Having never been before they suggested we did a couple of walks which were wonderful. They also recomended a couple of local places to eat in the evening. You can drive to some of the local pubs and restaurants for dinner or alternatively you can grab a taxi which is about £10 eaach way. We stayed in the Brathay room which has the 'loo with a view' and it absolutely does. You can see for miles whilst in the shower or on the loo! The bathroom was lovely and nicely decorated, the only downside was that it didn't have a bath but the shower was great as were the fluffy towels. The bedroom was big and spacious and also beautifully designed. Note to those of you who stay in this room... the bed squeeks! Apart from that it was lovely. I would recomend Nanny Brow for those of you who want to walk, relax and are happy to drive to go and get dinner. Its a real gem and I would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiveLife32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
2.0 km away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
10.3 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,345 reviews
1.6 km away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,383 reviews
1.7 km away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,673 reviews
5.2 km away
Summer Hill Country House
Summer Hill Country House
#5 of 103 in Ambleside
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nanny Brow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nanny Brow

Property: Nanny Brow
Address: Clappersgate, Ambleside LA22 9NF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:5 star — Nanny Brow 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nanny Brow sits on its own private crag, near Ambleside with views down the Brathay valley. Direct fellside access for walkers and only minutes from the stunning Langdale Valleys. A relaxing family home with excellent levels of comfort and service. Spotlessly clean accommodation, warm and spacious with individually designed rooms, friendly service and great breakfasts. Come join us and unwind…… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nanny Brow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nanny Brow Hotel Ambleside
Nanny Brow Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing