We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful winter break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waterhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wonderful winter break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

We stayed at the Waterhead hotel on 6th,7th of February. It was freezing cold and snow covered the ground. Inside the hotel was toasty warm and inviting. We found the service offered by the hotel to be first class.I walk very badly but this was dealt with in a sympathetic manner in a quiet uneffusive way. The views from the hotel bedroom and our table in the dining room were truly lovely almost demanding to be photographed.
We ate in the dining room for breakfast and evening meal. My husband is vegetarian and enjoyed all his meals. This does not happen often so other veggies take note. We found all the staff without exception to be very friendly and helpful.
It was a wonderful winter break.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,264
    271
    52
    4
    9
See reviews for
218
1,061
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We had a KGB deal for 2 nights at the Waterhead and loved it. The staff were really friendly and helpful but not in your face or overpowering. The evening meal was first class - lamb shank and the breakfasts had great choice. Lovely view over the lake from the dining room. Great spacious room with one of the comfiest beds in a hotel I've slept on. It was really clean and was great to have a bath as well as a shower. Although we haven't got a dog I thought it was great that you could take one to this hotel but there was no doggy smell anywhere. There was also a good selection fo dvd's on a bookcase in reception to borrow. Will definately think about going back.

Room Tip: They do have rooms that overlook Lake windermere so it would be worth asking when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbara b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Dear reader. If you are NOT expecting another gushing review for Waterhead, then stop reading now (sorry!).

This is the last of three reviews of 3 Lakeland Hotels we stayed at during January for my wife and my Birthday celebrations and boy, did we save the best until last!
English Lakes are no doubt very pleased with this hotel, and so they should be.
Another couple of wet days in January certainly did not put a dampner on our stay here.

On arrival (quite late because we had been in Kendal all day), we were given a warm welcome and our keys to room 32 and off we trudged. Although the room was on the ground floor a short walk from reception, we had a window which offered an elevated view. And we could see water (finally). Well, a partial view of Windermere but it was nice nonetheless. There was also a Birthday card waiting for my wife (it was her Birthday the next day) - thank you Waterhead. For information, room 32 was a standard House Double room.

Rhetorical question not just for English Lakes though. It is not quite acting with hostility but I do believe it a little narrow-minded as far as looking after customers go. Why is it that virtually empty hotels never upgrade people who stay, when they have purchased offers or there on a bargain break anyway? This was a KGB offer and although there might be room restrictions because of that (but should there be when top prices are advertised as price comparisons on the promotion sites?), does it not make sense to woo the few customers you have so they come back again and again and write glowing reviews on places like TripAdvisor? The hotel was all but empty and it would have been lovely to have been given something special, as far as rooms go (in all 3 hotels we stayed in that is).

Actually (to be fair), even though we were forced to 'slum it' in room 32. It has to be said that even though we could not see all of the lake, the room was more than we expected. Beautiful in fact - but there were a lot of nicer rooms left empty.

The bathroom was a nice size. Imaculately cleaned and stocked with nice toiletries as per all of English Lakes hotels.
It was modern in design with a huge bath and superb shower.

The bedroom itself was a nice size too. Airy and light and with a huge King sized ultra comfortable bed. We slept best at Waterhead.

What we found most enjoyable about the Waterhead was the attention to detail of absolutely everything and how friendly the staff were. Adam was particularly welcoming and nice to talk to after we had finished breakfast the following day.

In the room, we loved the amount of and variation of drinks available (and the ginger biscuits were superb). The gadgets again pleased and we made full use of the free DVD hire offered to guests (with an extensive library of old and recently released movies). Internet access in the room was best through the cable (very fast) but wifi is available too and probably better in the public areas of the hotel.

Another plus for the Waterhead was the turn down service given where trays are replenished, ice offered etc. etc. I even chose to go for an all feather pillow which I asked room service for and which was delivered quickly and without any fuss. It was probably why we slept so well!

We didn't eat an evening meal at the Waterhead (again they withdrew their Taste Card membership) but promise to, next time we stay there. We did however have a cocktail in the bar. I had the most delicious Mojito and my wife had a Strawberry Daiquiri which were made to perfection.

Naturally we had breakfast and although not as good as The Wild Boar, it was close to it. Again, the menu was extensive and everything was fresh. I had eggs Benedict on the second day which was superb. Also, on our second day we were given the bay window overlooking the Lake, which must have been reserved especially for us (thanks again Waterhead - Adam?).

I could carry on gushing and repeat what countless other people have said about this hotel but will stop now reader. Except (in my best Yorkshireman voice) I must say that although I do like a bargain and will continue to try and get the most from firms (I love KGB Offers and Groupon), to get the best rates available, I have to say that I would gladly come back to the Waterhead and pay the full rate for accommodation - it was that nice.

As far as I am concerned, you can do nothing but enjoy your time at the Waterhead.

Room Tip: Ask for a Lake view but don't be too disappointed if you don't get one. Hotel has a lovely a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmormous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Emmormous,

Many thanks for your detailed review of your recent stay with us on what was a tour of English Lakes properties. It was certainly pleasing to read you enjoyed your stay at Waterhead. I understand your comment in relation to upgrades during quiet times and this is something that we certainly do when available. As you experienced, all of our rooms are of an excellent standard and although you stayed in one of our house rooms there are only few of these with a view of the lake so i am glad you got to enjoy this added bonus. It is our objective in participating in KGB deals to showcase not only our great hotels but also the quality of service we provide which sets us apart from our competition. I am pleased to say from your review this was the case and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future, be sure to keep a look out for upcoming offers on our company website.

Best regards

Mark Needham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

I stayed here for two nights in a classic house double room with my husband and little dog. We normally stay at the Ambleside Salutation (which we love) but as it was fully booked we thought we would give the Waterhead a try... We weren't disappointed. The room was lovely, very clean and we even could see the lake from our room despite not paying for a lake view! Our room was very conveniently located close to the stairs to the car park which was great for exercising the dog. A waterbowl, dog bed and chew sticks were also provided - a lovely touch. Dogs are welcome in the bar area which was very handy for us at breakfast as we don't like to leave the dog unattended in the room. All the food we had was delicious. The staff were all excellent, very friendly and helpful, especially when my husband had a minor jogging accident they promptly provided ice and bandages. We had a great time and will return!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JLB2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed at the hotel at the end of November with two children 6 years and a 1 year old. The service of this hotel is excellent and the rooms are fabulous if you want that luxury factor. We also ate in the hotel not only for breakfast but for our evening meals and these where superb catering for all our needs.

We shall be going back again same time this year and would definately always chose this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.1 km away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
1.3 km away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
5.8 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
5.3 km away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
34.1 km away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Property: Waterhead Hotel
Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterhead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star town house hotel on the shores of Lake Windermere near Ambleside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside Hotel Waterhead
Hotel Waterhead
Waterhead Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing