We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
A pleasant oasis in a busy city

Just sitting having a cool drink and a sandwich is pleasant amongst the flower beds in this traffic... read more

Reviewed 3 November 2018
Englisheric
,
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Colourful planting

We visited the city centre with friends who were staying from the northwest of the country and had... read more

Reviewed 12 October 2018
Nicola D
,
Hessle, United Kingdom
Read all 213 reviews
  
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveller rating
86
79
31
13
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
79
31
13
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews flower beds city centre robinson crusoe queens dock nice flowers formal gardens lovely place to sit sunny day walk past lunch hour green space freedom festival queen victoria william wilberforce well worth a visit fountain picnic
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 213 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2018

A new sculpture called the 'Solar Gate' has been erected in recent months as part of the City of Culture 2017'. To me, it looks completely out of place in these surroundings. Perhaps it looks better on a sunny day. It has lots of lacey cut-out holes in it (for the sun to shine through I assume) but was very disappointing in the daytime. When we checked it out at night originally, it was not lit up and we were even more disappointed. However we read in the local paper that now it is illuminated after dark, so we made the effort to re-visit in December, and it does actually look much prettier lit up at night, particularly now that the Christmas illuminations are also up. BUT the rest of Queens Gardens is extremely dark and menacing at night. Fortunately the solar gate is near the edge of the gardens so easy to view without venturing far in.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Nicola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

Visited Hull was lovely to see the garden in a lovely tidy state. There was flowers in bloom which was lovely as the weather was wet and cold. The flowers brightened any ones day. Well done to the gardeners. Job well done.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Gail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

Queens garden is very nice to walk round once the very nice flowers come out,but what gets me angry is how people leave there rubbish behind,its very to sit on the grass on a sunny day and have a sandwich but wish people would take there rubbish with them.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

we went to see the new features that have been placed at the queens gardens, it is very well maintained with small lakes and fountains, it is situated very close to the city center and shops.
it was a old dock and is the place that Alexander Selkirk sailed from on his ill fated journey before he was marooned the book Robinson Crusoe was based on his story.

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank cat1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

When I first visited the city of Kingston-upon-Hull in 1993, to photograph examples of post-war architectural sculpture on behalf of Historic England, I came across various sculptures in Queen's Gardens made from Portland limestone and bronze and, as part of a day out to Hull, I recently went to take another look.

With my visit coinciding with the beginning of the Freedom Festival, very many marquees and miscellaneous other displays were being set up and, as it was starting to rain, I only had time to photograph some of the sculptures that I had seen before and wasn't able to see the recent improvements that have been undertaken this year.

I was impressed by the floral displays and the Wilberforce Monument and the ceramic frieze sculpture on the front elevation of Hull College, just beyond its eastern end, are worth seeing.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank ScottEngering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews