We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Modern Flat with Outstanding Views”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Castle View Dover

Master bed room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Master bed room
patio off master bed room lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Master bed room
patio off master bed room
lounge
fully equipted kitchen
Private garden
Night view of castle
Entrance Hall
Bathroom
Second Bedroom
Dolphin in Channel
Channel swim escort vessel
Winter at Castle View
Hot Air Ballooning over the White Cliffs
Inquisitive Sea Lion
The Gallion
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Dover, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Zurich A
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Modern Flat with Outstanding Views”
Reviewed 22 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Wonderfully located atop one of the highest hills in Dover, this flat is just five minutes by car from central Dover. Honestly, I wouldn’t have wanted to stay in Dover central. It doesn’t have the subtle beach town beauty that I prefer. So, being a bit out of town, away from the noise, grime, and activity was a welcome reprieve.

The view is truly panoramic, offering 180 degree views of the English Channel, and a bird’s eye view of the Dover harbor. The property is well laid out in modern decor with clean lines and efficient use of space. It was impeccably clean, with well designed kitchen, bathroom and master bedroom spaces. The second bedroom had great bunkbed spaces for kids. The bed in the master was very comfortable with a lovely sliding glass door onto a private patio and fenced yard.

Internet was fast at 9Mpbs down and 1.1Mbps up. It was stable and I didn’t have any problem plugging my portable hotspot into the router (easier for frequent travel).

It took me no more than 9 minutes to get to the Dover castle, and maybe another 5 to get to the Dover cliffs. For a short weekend, this is the place to be.

The owners, who live next door, were quite helpful, polite, and left me be in spite of my odd hours. Very nice to have help close by but not invasive. Would that all owners were like them.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, the design, the wifi.
Liked least: Timed electric per Dover Code.
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Total relaxation with stunning views!”
Reviewed 13 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Excellent property, very clean and well equipped. Great location. Definitely what we wanted for a relaxing break. We went in winter but would love to go back in the summer to enjoy the garden. There are some really lovely places to visit in the area and plenty of nice walks.
It was very easy to book and key was left for us. No problems at all.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan B
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Well located comfortable accommodation in Dover”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We stopped off here between visiting southern England and heading off to Morocco. We really wanted somewhere reasonably close to Heathrow, but with plenty to see and do. Also we like quiet and self contained accommodation. This apartment was perfect. The owners live next door, but are just delightful and really helpful. Certainly not "in your face". The apartment was beautifully clean and modern, with everything we needed. This included the washing machine and clothes horses as we needed to wash clothes before heading to Morocco for a tour. Dover itself is a lovely place, and the white cliffs are certainly something to you have to see. We could see the castle from the apartment, however it was fairly foggy and I was hoping to see the French coast (which I probably could on a clear day!!). All in all, we had a wonderful stay and would highly recommend this accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The genuine welcoming we received from the owners.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helle888
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrific”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The view is exelent - The English Channel from the livingroom and Dover Castle from the bedroom.
The house was nice, clean and very good location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: If you don't have a car, it is a bit fare away from the city center.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Y B
Houston
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent property with astounding hosts”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment rental was everything I expected and more. Pictures and description was totally accurate. The hosts were very accommodating and great to converse with. The view from the place was wonderful. The site of Callais, France & Dover castle were wonderful. Even the day it rained a little posed a beautiful site of a rainbow!
The apartment was very spacious with all the perks anyone would love while out on vacation leaving all worries behind. WiFi was great, toaster, full fridge and range and even a DVD player and Washer, which were HUGE pluses helped with added entertainment (there are even DVD's you can watch if you didnt bring your own).
I could tell that the owners have high standards of cleanliness because the place was spotless.
From the moment I stepped into the place, it is easy to see that lots of work has gone into decorating to make it a place to forget your worries of daily life and to enjoy your time away from home. I absolutely loved it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and cleanliness of the property
Liked least: I really encountered no problems involving the property
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing