We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing fish and chips with a stunning view of Dover harbour”

Hythe Bay Seafood Restaurant Dover
Reserve with OpenTable
Hythe Bay Seafood Restaurant Dover is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 191 Restaurants in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Delightful seafood restaurant situated on the beach at Dover. Fantastic sea views and stunning views of the harbour at night.Al fresco dining in good weather. Spacious and modern with excellent service.Local fisherman's catch used where possible and local produce sourced.Extensive fish menu with non fish and vegetarian options available.Ideal for families, business or relaxed lunch or dinner. Live music often on Saturday evening. Reasonably priced.
Reviewed 26 August 2017

We had not booked in advance but arriving at around 6:30pm we were extremely lucky to get a window table overlooking the harbour. The restaurant really filled up while we were there so booking is probably a good idea. There was plenty to choose from on the menu. We went for the basic fish and chips. There was nothing basic about it!! The fish was succulent with a crispy batter, the chips fluffy on the inside and crispy on the outside and the petit pois minted and just right. The half lemon was wrapped in gauze tied with a blue ribbon (to match the glasses) so that you didn't get pips all over your food. In addition, we were served lovely soft warm rolls with a smoked fish pate. What a feast!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HytheBay, Owner at Hythe Bay Seafood Restaurant Dover, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your fish and chips with a view, plus the complimentary warm rolls and mackerel pate. We hope to be able to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (881)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 122 of 881 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2017

The restaurant really did the 17 of us proud. The organisation for quite a large paray was brilliant. Everyone got the meal that they had pre-ordered with the minimum of fuss. The food was extremely tasty and well-presented. Thanks to the chef, the waiting staff and an especial thanks to Amanda who made us feel extremely welcome. We will return next year for our annual choir dinner.

Thank micky_fitzgerald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HytheBay, Owner at Hythe Bay Seafood Restaurant Dover, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Thank you for your kind words. We are so pleased that your annual event was a success. See you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

4 of us booked in for an evening meal, 2 of us are shell fish fans so were looking for something fresh like a variety platter. I had the shellfish selection as a starter, it was huge for the price and it tasted amazing...all of it really fresh and beautifully presented. I had the seafood medley for the main which was also really good...I was stuffed by the end of that. My other half had the calamari, he said it was really nice and the cod and chips for main. He said it was the best cod and chips he had ever had! We were served quickly, we didn't wait long for anything. The waitress was very friendly and was attentive. The setting of this restaurant was really lovely, we could watch the ferries coming in and out of the harbour, particularly lovely when it got dark and they were all lit up. I had difficulty choosing what I wanted to eat as the menu had such a good variety, they also had some specials too. The restaurant was very clean and the parkng was a breeze, there were plenty of spaces right outside on the esplanade. We would definitely go again. We are people who do like value for money and we certainly got that, the quality was well worth it. 4 very happy eaters, thank you.

Thank N4797DV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HytheBay, Owner at Hythe Bay Seafood Restaurant Dover, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Thank you for your comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed your meal. Our customers do enjoy the views of the White Cliffs and the ferries and cruise boats coming and going. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

Lovely restaurant just on the beach with beautiful views of the harbour. The food was amazing and they do other meals even though it is predominantly sea food. I had the duck which was cooked to perfection. The service is very good and our waitress was very knowledgeable about the menu. She couldn't do enough for us and always with a lovely smile.

Clean and beautiful inside, good food, fair pricing and amazing views. We will definitely visit again the next time we're in Dover.

Thank Caroline_JCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HytheBay, Owner at Hythe Bay Seafood Restaurant Dover, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Thank you for your positive review. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

I asked one of the staff at Dover Castle for a recommendation and was not dissapointed. This is the only restaurant on the actual sea-front at Dover so you can't miss it. It is towards the western end of the beach. It is open for lunch and dinner 7 days. I had lobster which was terrific and reasonably priced. My wife had a prawn dish which was also very good. The waiter we had was fantastic and very attentive. The other staff seemed to be very good also.
We travelled to many countries in Europe over nine and a half weeks and this was a highlight.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank philipethompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HytheBay, Owner at Hythe Bay Seafood Restaurant Dover, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that your lunch with us was a highlight of your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hythe Bay Seafood Restaurant Dover also viewed

 

Been to Hythe Bay Seafood Restaurant Dover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing