We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This is more than a luxury cottage”

Review of The Stables

Set in a pretty courtyard, The Stables is clad with traditional Kentish clapboard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Set in a pretty courtyard, The Stables is clad with traditional Kentish clapboard
Large airy sitting room leading onto your private terrace with views over the garden In the Summer, the barn in the courtyard is full of colour in the hanging baskets
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Set in a pretty courtyard, The Stables is clad with traditional Kentish clapboard
Large airy sitting room leading onto your private terrace with views over the garden
In the Summer, the barn in the courtyard is full of colour in the hanging baskets
A view from the bedroom end looking towards the kitchen and bathroom, with French doors to the left
The Old Bakehouse, which houses picnic basket, blanket,hot water bottles and other goodies!
Your private terrace on which to unwind after a hard day's sightseeing!
The Stables and The Gardener's Cottage as you enter the courtyard
A view of the magnificent mulberry tree, a magnet for birds - we have yet to try one!
The old barn in the courtyard, always full of colour in the Summer
Large, private guest parking
Luxury bathroom with walk-in shower
The walk-in shower has a handy grab rail, and we provide a safety mat too
Luxury bedlinen, very comfortable bed mean you wake refreshed and ready to face the day well rested
Fully equipped fitted kitchen including bean to carafe coffee machine.
A modern space to create mouth-watering dishes, or just order some of our excellent frozen meals!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Canterbury, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
John D
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This is more than a luxury cottage”
Reviewed 16 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My wife and I hoped to find a peaceful retreat and the Stables provided just that. The gardens, cottage and the high standard of furnishing were a delight. The welcome hamper was an especially nice touch, and Ann and Rob were caring and attentive, but from a discreet distance. A perfect week, wish we stayed longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Huge attention to detail by the Owners
Liked least: Nothing at all to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2016
Thank you for your kind words - you'll have to come back and see us again! It was a real pleasure to meet you both, and glad you enjoyed your break at The Stables.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane H
2 reviews
“Perfect retreat”
Reviewed 26 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The owners have put so much thought into this perfect retreat. Everything was provided, from a lovely welcome hamper to a spare pair of reading glasses! The cottage was spotless, comfortable and very well equipped, and we enjoyed a pretty, private garden complete with mulberry tree. It is in an ideal location for visiting the coast and Dover Castle, and the beautiful city of Canterbury. We had the interesting experience of the sound of lions roaring from the nearby wildlife park and, though not a guaranteed event for every visitor - an earthquake!
Thanks to Sally for all her help and kindness.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2015
Thank you for your kind words, and hope that next time you go on holiday, it is earthquake free! We try to think of everything our guests might want (as we would when we go away). We're so pleased your enjoyed your stay, and that Sally looked after you so well. You'll have to come back so we can meet you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom C
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
“Wonderful cottage-perfect for two in a great location”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My wife and I stayed twice at the Stables. Once in May/June 2014 for two weeks and then in Sept 2014 for another two weeks when our travel plans changed and we needed to return to England.
The cottage is equipped to a very high level, is very spacious and very comfortable. We have stayed in numerous cottages in England and in French gites and the Stables are at the top of our list.
The bed was large and comfortable, the shower worked extemely well and the kitchen had every thing we needed. Parking was all we needed and convienent. The whole cottage was spotless.
The location is very convienent for Canterbury-7 miles away-the small town of Sandwich and the coast from Dover around to Margate. The country side had a number of places to walk with little traffic.
However the best thing about the cottage is the people. Ann, Robert and Sally made our stay everything we could want. Helpful and nice. We are looking forward to returning the next time we are in England.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The people
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2014
It was a pleasure to see you again, and thank you for the compliments. We all work hard to ensure the cottage is a welcoming and clean environment to stay. People invest so much hope in a holiday, and, thankfully, we have never let them down! Still using the blackberries you picked for us. We look forward to seeing you in 2016! Kind regards, Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian D
1 review
“Wonderful Break in a Wonderful Cottage”
Reviewed 26 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed in The Stables and had a really enjoyable holiday. After several recent disappointments it was a pleasure to find such a clean and well equipped cottage, with such friendly and welcoming owners. We would definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Mix or modern and traditional
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, it was a pleasure to meet you both. We were very pleased that you found the right restaurant at which to celebrate your anniversary. Thank you for leaving the cottage so clean and tidy, kind regards, Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Reviewed 28 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Jun 2015
A belated response I know. Just getting the hang of this Tripadvisor thing! We're so pleased you were so pleased, and hope to welcome you back again soon. Having the bus stop so near is invaluable to those guests who are lucky enough to have a bus pass.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing