We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A visit to celibrate a family birthday and explore the city”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canterbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Acacia Lodge & Tanglewood Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 73 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2016

We liked this B&B very much. We were given a warm welcome and felt very much at home. Tam is a very interesting and knowledgeable hostess. The location is convenient for the station and a bus route, close to the city centre. Our room was small but comfortable, the beds very good in a twin room and the en suite OK with plenty of hot water. The breakfast was traditional and good.

Room Tip: The twin room is probably larger than the others
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Angus and Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2016

The bedrooms are small but spotlessly clean and with every amenity. Tam your hostess is very welcoming and caters for your every need. She provides a 5 star service at a reasonably priced tariff. This B&B deserves a full recommendation and my repeat business.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Very nice room, spotless with newly refurbished bathroom, usual steep stairs but they took care of my heavy suitcase. I had a lovely vegetarian English breakfast and they catered for all my dietary requirements. Tam is amazing: welcoming, resourceful, and sincerely ready to help whenever you ask. It was my first time in Canterbury and she even walked with me to Kent Uni!! Highly recommended. I will definitely come back.

Stayed: May 2016
2  Thank LauramaS2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2016

We were very lucky to even be able to get a room here as we chose university graduation weekend to start our walk to Dover (the Via Francigena, which terminates in Rome, but in Kent coincides with the North Downs Way), but I can hardly imagine that we could have found a better place to stay. Tam and her family made us feel right at home. We had been told that all they had was a twin, but when we arrived a double had been arranged. Tam had great advice for dinner and for a day hike to Chartham, which proved marvelous (see my review of The Artichoke in Chartham elsewhere.) The room was spotless, the breakfast very tasty and plentiful, and the entire experience very satisfactory. The other people we met there were people who seemed to be frequent guests and it is no wonder. If we come back to Canterbury anytime soon, we will stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ken k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

We booked this B&B last min, booking Friday evening for a stay Saturday. From the beginning the service received was very friendly, with the owner offering to call me back because I called while she was on her school run!
We were greeted with cold watermelon and offers of help by the owner.
Rooms are decent, very clean and come with some nice touches like a teapot on the hospitality tray. Breakfast was also very nice and of a high quality.
Don't expect a luxury stay, but if you are looking for a reasonably priced b&b with a warm welcome, then this is for you!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank 193nicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
1 km away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
467 reviews
0.4 km away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#12 of 16 in Canterbury
417 reviews
0.8 km away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
2,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central
3.6 km away
Iffin Farmhouse
Iffin Farmhouse
#2 of 73 in Canterbury
474 reviews
0.1 km away
Yorke Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Yorke Lodge Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 73 in Canterbury
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acacia Lodge & Tanglewood Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acacia Lodge & Tanglewood Bed & Breakfast

Address: 39 London Road, Canterbury CT2 8LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Hotel Class:4 star — Acacia Lodge & Tanglewood Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast Hotel in Historic Canterbury. These two charming 19th-century cottages are conveniently located for the city, Canterbury West Station, and the University of Kent. This family-run B & B offers clean & comfortable accommodation at affordable prices. Off-street parking is available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Acacia Lodge & Tanglewood Bed & Breakfast Canterbury, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing