We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good atmosphere but cramped room”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canterbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Acacia Lodge & Tanglewood Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 75 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“good atmosphere but cramped room”
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Acacia Lodge is a friendly place to stay. Our double room was extremely small and in our opinion only suitable for single occupancy. The bathroom was tiny too, just a little shower and a toilet, with no space around at all. The ventilator in the bathroom made a horrible noise. English breakfast was good, but the continental breakfast was very basic. I asked for some yoghurt and fruit, but it was only provided on the third and last day.
Best: the owners who are friendly end helpful.
Worst: the tinyness of the room and the noisy ventilator

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lara s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    19
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
46
61
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

my wife and i stayed here as we were in canterbury for a wedding. the room we were given was perhaps a tad small but that was within the nature of the building. the room was very clean, cosy and comfortable and the lodge owners made a particular effort to welcome us and made us feel at 'home', which was a lovely touch. the cooked breakfast was very good and there was enough off road parking on the premises for most, if not all, of the guests vehicles. all in all a quirky b and b with lovely hosts and very reasonably priced. would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrmowgli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergbieten
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Tam and Mark are really welcoming their guests....the house is very nice.
10 minutes walk from the center.
There is no family room and then you have to book 2 rooms if you have children but we just had 2 bedrooms on the same floor (just opposite) that made it easy for our family...
we recommend +++.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glintzberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2011

The owners of the B&B were so friendly and they have secure parking for motorbikes!! The room was nice and clean and the building itself is very unusual. Breakfast is lovely! I cant recommend Acacia Lodge highly enough. We had a great time!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

The service was great! Owners of the B&B are so friendly and so helpful! Our room was clean and breakfast was fantastic! The location is just outside of the city centre just about a few minutes walking, perfect for a bit walk after a nice dinner.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wuliao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
1.1 km away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
2.0 km away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.9 km away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
1.2 km away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.4 km away
House of Agnes
House of Agnes
#2 of 75 in Canterbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acacia Lodge & Tanglewood Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acacia Lodge & Tanglewood Bed & Breakfast

Property: Acacia Lodge & Tanglewood Bed & Breakfast
Address: 39 London Road, Canterbury CT2 8LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Hotel Class:4 star — Acacia Lodge & Tanglewood Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast Hotel in Historic Canterbury. These two charming 19th-century cottages are conveniently located for the city, Canterbury West Station, and the University of Kent. This family-run B & B offers clean & comfortable accommodation at affordable prices. Off-street parking is available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Acacia Lodge & Tanglewood Bed & Breakfast Canterbury, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing