We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing local produce from the best of the bunch”
Review of Wild Goose

Wild Goose
Ranked #77 of 392 Restaurants in Canterbury
Price range: US$5 - US$19
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Wine Bar
Restaurant details
Reviewed 18 January 2016 via mobile

This is one of our favourite eateries in Canterbury and having visited three times I am now compelled to write a review. The bar/restaurant is tucked away in the corner of the Goods Shed. It's a great spot to watch the market in full flow. Rustic wooden tables and bar stools surround the bar. The service is very laid back and unobtrusive but equally charming. The menu offers a selection of regularly changing tapas style dishes all cooked with local, naturally sourced produce to order with specials on a blackboard behind the bar - the pork belly offered at the time of our visits was exquisite. Our favourites included the roasted shallots with goats curd, the smoked mackerel pate and the lamb merguez sausages with tsatziki. This place offers a seriously good cocktail menu - having sampled most the 'Golden Goose' and aptly named 'Strangers on a Train' are the stand out favourites. Go and try - you will not be disappointed!

Date of visit: January 2016
Thank Rob007Kent_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2016

the restaurant is often full at popular mealtimes .....sometimes quite long queses but it has a fun lively atmosphere with good service too

Date of visit: November 2015
Thank 727anitah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2016 via mobile

Found this as we drove past and pleased that we stopped. Strong coffee served in an interesting cup along with the best mushrooms for breakfast

Date of visit: January 2016
Thank travellikealocal2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2015 via mobile

Tucked away at the back of the Goods Shed we came across the rather rustic bar of The Goose.
We clambered upon the bar stools and ordered some cocktails.
It was chilly but behind us all were a selection of warm throws that we happily flung upon ourselves.
The cocktails were delicious,well presented and good value for money. Interesting ingredients that infused well for a great taste !
Staff are young and full of fun !

Date of visit: December 2015
Thank Annie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2015

The place is charming and unusual! I recommended it for the product, fruit and vegetables witch you can buy there too. The restaurant is delicious

Date of visit: November 2015
Thank Mathildedemevius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wild Goose also viewed

 
Canterbury, Kent
 

Been to Wild Goose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing