We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for our immediate family wedding reception”
other travellers have booked this property
'The House at Plucks Gutter'
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'The House at Plucks Gutter'
2017 Certificate of Excellence River Stour close by the cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
'The House at Plucks Gutter'
2017 Certificate of Excellence
River Stour close by the cottage
Conservatory
Patio Area
Lounge
Inglenook
Conservatory and Formal Dining Table
Farmhouse Kitchen - Dining Area
Farmhouse Kitchen - Storage
Farmhouse Kitchen - Range
Lounge
Staircase
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Jacuzzi in Main Bathroom [Ground Floor]
Downstairs shower room
If only the trains stopped here...!
Cottage makes a great winter retreat
River in Winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Canterbury, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
SirMike82
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect for our immediate family wedding reception”
Reviewed 10 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015

What a wonderful cottage! We stayed here for our wedding weekend and had about 20 family members round for the Saturday afternoon and early evening to raise a glass. We had an outstanding time and all our guests were bowled over by the beauty of the cottage and it's surroundings. Mike and Celia were extremely generous and helpful and I recommend staying there as highly as is humanly possible!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How homely it felt
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2015
Thank you for your feedback - we hope to see you again soon. Mike and Celia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugina H
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
“fantastic experience, thankyou”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Beautiful comfortable cottage, cosy, well maintained. Very kind and helpful owners. We were welcomed with flowers and wine in the fridge. Fantastic jaccuzi. very friendly local pub. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay- Thankyou

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bath!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2015
Thank you for your review and we look forward to hosting you again soon. Mike and Celia.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bollokeep...
Halifax UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A comfortable stay in a nice cottage”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My wife, daughter and myself have just returned from a week's stay in this cottage. We enjoyed the facilities and general position of the property. It was well equipped with the feel of being a home rather than a bland purpose built letting. The kitchen in particular was very well equipped. There was little to be critical of. The access driveway was a little tight and getting out onto the main road needed careful judging. The drive is only 20 yards from a blind summit on a bridge.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen
Liked least: Driveway
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2015
Thank you for your review - we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Guests are permitted and indeed encouraged to park in the pub car park - unfortunately the drive was constructed in the days of horses and carts ;-))
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwichfr...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super place”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed our stay at Plucks Gutter. The property is very old and quirky, but very comfortable and spacious, ideal for 2 couples. We loved the artwork and spent many hours in the conservatory and the garden, thanks for the BBQ.

We walked along the river bank and heard and saw a cuckoo, which was lovely. We went to Canterbury on the bus which stops outside and enjoyed trips to Dover Castle, Sandwich Whitstable and Ramsgate. The Dog and Duck opposite comes highly recommended the food was good and reasonably priced and the staff were so friendly.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2015
Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ununpenti...
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a quiet location”
Reviewed 16 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

When we arrived at the cottage it was perfectly clean and tidy inside with a note to welcome us from the owners. The cottage felt very homely with lots of interesting books, games and artwork around. The riverside location is picturesque and mostly quiet (you can hear the odd car drive over the bridge, but the location is very rural). About half an hour from Canterbury, and another half an hour to Broadstairs so a great place to stay for those locations.

The only negative was that on arrival we struggled to find the cottage as the address given was not specific enough for the satnav! We had to ask the staff in the Dog and Duck pub and it took a few minutes for someone who knew to tell us the directions. It would have been helpful for the specific location to be included in the booking email.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen
Liked least: The spiders!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2015
Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing