We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage, fabulous location, very doggy...”
other travellers have booked this property
'The House at Plucks Gutter'
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'The House at Plucks Gutter'
2017 Certificate of Excellence River Stour close by the cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
42 reviews
'The House at Plucks Gutter'
2017 Certificate of Excellence
River Stour close by the cottage
Conservatory
Patio Area
Lounge
Inglenook
Conservatory and Formal Dining Table
Farmhouse Kitchen - Dining Area
Farmhouse Kitchen - Storage
Farmhouse Kitchen - Range
Lounge
Staircase
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Jacuzzi in Main Bathroom [Ground Floor]
Downstairs shower room
If only the trains stopped here...!
Cottage makes a great winter retreat
River in Winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Canterbury, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
AlanmBrig...
Brighton
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, fabulous location, very doggy friendly”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed at the House at Plucks Gutter for a long weekend with our dog and had a lovely time. The location of the cottage is great, right on the river with nice rural walks on the doorstep.

The cottage is great, very comfortable and cosy, with a lovely garden and a great little conservatory to sit and eat meals in. The kitchen is very well equipped and the bathroom is spacious and similarly has everything you could wish for. The bedrooms are both a nice size and comfortable.

The cottage is very well located, being a short drive from most coastal towns, Whitstable being our favourite, and from Canterbury.

The local pub does decent pub food and the staff are friendly, but it lacks atmosphere, or at least it was very quiet when we were there. They allow dogs in the bar area. For a pub with a more exciting menu and more life about it we can recommend the Grove Ferry Inn, about 4 miles away just off the A28.

All in all it's a great place to stay, with or without a dog.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The kitchen and crockery could have been cleaner - fed back to owner.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2015
Thank you for your review, we are happy that you enjoyed yourself and look forward to you staying again in the future, Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travellin...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed at this lovely cottage for a couple of nights in July.
The cottage had everything you could need and was so full of character.
It was a bonus to find that we could walk to the local pub by going under the bridge - so did not even have to cross the road.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quirky cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2014
Thanks and we look forward to you staying again sometime, Regards, Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roz W
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect cottage”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

From the moment we arrived, bubbly and chocolates left for us in the fridge, everything was perfect. We loved the cottage, the location and the weather was even in our favour. Pub very nearby serving good food all day.
Would recommend highly to anyone.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2014
Thank you for your feedback - we look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Jacuzzi/ shower
Liked least: Long walk to shops
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Apr 2014
Thank you, it was great having you to stay. We are always happy to help with groceries and stocking the larder before our guests visit us. Looking forward to having you stay again, Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Elizabeth...
Minster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed 23 January 2014 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had a short break in October with our 2 dogs. Hubby went fishing. Ate in the pub opposite-great food. Dogs enjoyed the walks. Nice and relaxing-really chilled. Would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and quiet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Mar 2014
Thank you - we look forward to have you stay again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing