We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,321)
Filter reviews
2,321 results
Traveller rating
917
683
405
215
101
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
917
683
405
215
101
Show reviews that mention
All reviews champagne bar high street enviable room desirable room tuck box car park michael caines lovely hotel central location standard room sat nav front of house centre of town one night stay eggs benedict lovely room cooked breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 2,321 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

First time at this hotel and at this chain of hotels. Booking last minute for a business trip we chose the abode. It’s a large hotel and right in the centre, ideal for shopping and sightseeing just steps away. It’s also ideal for the vast array of cafes and restaurants. The bar is nice in front of the hotel and we had expertly Made cocktails only marred with the two bar attenders constantly discussing their personal lives whilst making them. The room we had was large enough and had everything we needed. Breakfast was excellent, a large range of fresh fruit, cereals ( packed in individual small
Bags was an excellent idea!), breads and pastries and fresh cooked selection. The fresh cooked breakfast menu was one of the best selections I have seen in a long while! All cooked very well. The coffee wasn’t so good and the service was just OK. Get the service right and this could be a great experience and not just good. However the girl on check in was very good.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
Thank NicolaS279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

Check in experience was great and staff were friendly and helpful. Bar and restaurant were good although service was a little on the slow side. Bed was too soft. Biggest issue with my room was that there was a bar or club nearby which was playing extremely loud music till the early hours, and the smoking area was just below my window, which meant that there was screaming and shouting till at least 3am.

Would not stay again, hotel needs some form of soundproofing or to have a discussion with the bar around noise levels.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018

Excellent customer service and a fine dining room. The breakfast menu was outstanding.It's a old facility and the room corridors go every which way. Thought the room itself was well thought out but found the bathroom tub a real puzzle. Very high sides and no grab bars to assist getting in. Good luck to those who are short or handicapped.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank patagonia100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018

The Abode Hotel is situated in the main high street and central to all main historical sites and cathedral. If you have a tight schedule look no more
First class facilities and services. Hotel staff also friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Madrid2341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018

We booked two rooms here and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Very friendly staff and lovely meals in the restaurant, the menu choices were amazing and portion sizes just right for our tastes, could not fault it really!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank laineyb877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews