We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb midweek curry”
Review of The Ancient Raj

The Ancient Raj
Ranked #30 of 396 Restaurants in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 18 October 2018 via mobile

Amazingly busy for a Wednesday evening in October. It was packed but the manager happily found us a table for 2 knowing he had a later booking on the table. All with no fuss at all.
Great menu, great service, great prices and fantastic quality food.
Recommended.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Mac-from-Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2018

The food is a notch above most Indian restaurants. The service is good and prices reasonable for the quality of the food. In my experience this is the best Indian in Canterbury.

Date of visit: September 2018
2  Thank mjo2468 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

We are regulars here and have always rated the food, service and general ambience. The latter two are still excellent but on our most recent visits the food seemed a little...bland? No depth of flavour at all! Dissapointing as we love this place. Still ok but no longer excellent.

Date of visit: October 2018
7  Thank Bombidia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018 via mobile

Got 2 free parking places in Canterbury!

Upstairs lounge area to wait for a table, but we were shown to our table when we arrived

Lovely ambiance, Victoria and Abdul / Colonial type decoration. Jazz keyboard player, live music made a difference to the usual taped music.

Food cooked to order. Each of us rated the food highly. Chicken tikka jalfrezi was delicious.

Pleasant staff.

Two of the party always give the 'toilet' review: not as clean as they could be. Toilet seat was the wrong size for the bowl. Would've taken the score down 1/2 a mark, but can't give 1/2 marks.

We would all recommend, nice romantic setting.

All would recommend.

The toilet review

Date of visit: September 2018
2  Thank RES121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018 via mobile

Warm freindly welcome . nice service.food hot and tasty.not a curry lover but enjoyed what i had will be going back.relaxed atmosphere

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank petermil2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ancient Raj also viewed

 

Been to The Ancient Raj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing