We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,348)
Filter reviews
1,348 results
Traveller rating
379
562
232
98
77
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
379
562
232
98
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviews car park old coaching inn main building free parking superior room buffet style old building lovely hotel four poster bed excellent location city centre staff were welcoming high street breakfast was excellent full english stayed for one night cooked breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 1,348 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

This was our 3rd visit to Canterbury and by far the best hotel we have stayed in.
Many of the rooms are in the old Woodmill building a few meters from the main building.
Our room was a decent size and very comfortable.
The hotel has a really lovely, relaxing bar area and is popular with locals on a night out.
The staff are super helpful.
Only slight problem was breakfast where it was a bit chaotic at times. However, we were told to expect delays at peak times.
We will most definitely return.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank david1960uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel as a couple with two OAP’s - so two rooms.

We stayed in rooms 34 + 33. The hotel has been refurbished to a large extent but threadbare carpet on the stairs to our room was frankly unacceptable considering what we paid for two nights. Used laundry was also left outside our room. Not what you’d expect to be honest.

Breakfast was good - but limited options for non-meat eaters. Most staff were lovely apart from a bearded/bald chap who seemed more interested in telling us where to put our feet than actually delivering our drinks.

Interesting experience but wouldn’t recommend.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Andyg5253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018

We have just returned from the Falstaff. Have to say very disappointed in our room 44. Very small and dark with a window that let hardly any air or light in. The room had a fan but not really adequate. Bathroom was serviceable . Beds were comfy enough a d clean !inen.Appeared to be a smoking area opposite the bedroom window though. A real plus point was it was so close to town and raiway station.

Room Tip: Not 44 for sure our friends had 54 which was much bigger
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018

Weather very hot, no a/c, so wanted the windows open. Very noisy from open air tables outside (bar) until late (midnight or 1.30). Else comfortable. Staff friendly and helpful. Hotel position ideal between station and city centre.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

A very nice looking hotel close to the city wall. Well located when visiting Canterbury.
Excellent gin collection.
However, our room was at the front of the hotel with a four poster bed. Very nice.
The room was extremely hot and had no air conditioning. We had a fan and was given an additional one. But had to keep the window open due to the heat
Unfortunately we hardly had any sleep due to the noise of the traffic and seagulls!
The bathroom is in need of some TLC, but the towels were very soft!
My advice to anyone booking would be to try and get a room at the back and preferably with air conditioning if possible.
The breakfast was very good.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank margarete50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews