We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Canterbury Lodge(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$144
US$119
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$131
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Castle House Hotel(Canterbury)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$144
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ABode Canterbury(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$165
US$130
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$151/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$246
US$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$80
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$91/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

YHA Canterbury(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$45
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Iffin Farmhouse(Canterbury)
Book now, pay at stay
US$250
US$238
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Four Seasons Bed and Breakfast(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$98
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,285)
Filter reviews
1,285 results
Traveller rating
353
542
222
96
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
353
542
222
96
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscar parkcoaching innmain buildingfree parkingthe ground floorsuperior roombuffet styleold buildingfour posterexcellent locationpublic areaslovely hotelcity centrehigh streetfull englishbreakfast was excellentstayed for one night
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 1,285 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2018

Whenever we come to the Canterbury area, we try to stay at The Falstaff. Very friendly staff at the front desk and in the breakfast room.
Nice rooms with ensuite bathroom, all very clean.
Parking area and close the town centre and easy to exit towards the motorways.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the old mill building
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dany T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2018

We used to take friends here for pre-dinner cocktails and sit in the lounge which was a nice treat. Went here last Saturday with my wife and Daughter OMG Falstaff what have you done. The place was very busy and a waitress asked us if we wanted drinks and lead us to a table in what was the Restaurant, we sat there ten minutes in a bland surroundings and decided it was not for us. It was incredibly noisy, rowdy and extremely unpleasant, it had gone from being a nice place for Cocktails to a slightly better version of Weatherspoons. We went to The Abode which was refined, civilised and had ambience. Thanks wont be going back here again

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank IanBroadmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at the Falstaff, the location cannot be more perfect just a 100 metres or less from the lovely West Gate and it's accompanying gardens. And right at the start of the beautiful town centre.

We found the hotel really easily, no sooner had we entered Canterbury we found ourselves driving up to the hotel. The car park entrance could be hard to find so I recommend doing as we did and take a look at Google street view beforehand. The car park is spacious and free, a real bonus of any hotel stay. Breakfast was also included in our stay and a good variety of cooked breakfast, cereals, pastries and fruit were on offer along with every kind of beverage you would expect for breakfast. The staff were very helpful and pleasant.

We would definitely stay again should we visit Canterbury again.

As we're generally low maintenance guests and easily pleased everything was fine. It should be mentioned that our room was very small with our bed being a relatively small double and positioned just 16 inches or so from the door.

Being on the 1st floor it also means carrying your luggage upstairs as there is no lift. The receptionist did escort us to our room and did offer to help with our luggage.

The upstairs carpet and walls could use some love or replacing. And the signs could be a bit clearer. We rather embarrassingly struggled to find our room later as to find it meant going through some fire doors and the lights are motion sensor activated. Being worried we would set off an alarm and not being able to see through the window we were a bit hesitant to just barge through the door.

There are signs near the ceiling but maybe they could be a bit more visible or clearer. It is an old creaky building and a little maze like.

Overall the positives far outweigh the little niggles. We'd recommend a stay here but if you're not good with stairs or tight spaces I'd advise calling the hotel to see if they can offer a room more suited to your needs.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Gromit3577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay, thanks to excellent staff, all very helpful on a very wet day! The ground floor bedroom was appreciated and we loved the stylish interior. Good location to walk to high street and lots of restaurants.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
Thank Steph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

We've just returned from staying two nights at The Falstaff. We chose it because it is just a short walk to the cathedral, museums and shops. The hotel itself was lovely and the staff friendly and helpful. The decor of our room and the corridors leading up to it were a little tired, but the entrance, bar and dining areas had been modernised more recently. Our room was very spacious, the bed extremely comfortable and the bathroom a decent size. There was also an excellent spread at breakfast. Altogether a lovely stay.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank micklecrickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews