We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveller rating
93
46
11
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
46
11
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self catering kitchen youth hostel bunk beds city centre wooden cabin hobbit house shared room great place to stay great facilities nice lounge enjoyed my stay fifteen minute walk perfect stay family room dover road beautiful building mini break
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 152 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2018

Friendly staff, nice breakfast. Watch out for the precipitous stairs to the basement dining room and self-catering kitchen. The lounge, on the Winter evening when I visited, was in perpetual gloom as the lighting is dim; it strained my eyes to try to read a book. I hear that free-standing lamps have been requested and they really are needed.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHA-Canterbury, Team Member at YHA Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Dear Guest
Many thanks for your kind review we are sorry that you found the lounge to be dim we have ordered some new free standing lamps to brighten it up. We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards
Martin
YHA Canterbury

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

Great value for money, very comfortable. Room was warm and beds were comfortable. Showers were hot and powerful. Toilet/shower/bathroom have separate areas so could be used by different people if needed. Nice bit of humour in the toilets as well

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Grant W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHA-Canterbury, Team Member at YHA Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Dear Grant

Thank you ever so much for the 5* Review we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return in the future.

Regards
Martin
YHA Canterbury

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017

Travelled solo- stayed in a shared en-suite room, the room, shower and toilet was clean. The self catering kitchen was good and clean. Overall environment - near to town and just off the main road.
The car park can be quite crowded in the evenings. Great place to stay with friendly staff - Nikki and Simon and the rest of the crew

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
Thank 812crystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHA-Canterbury, Team Member at YHA Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind review we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and managed to make use of the facilities, Being a city hostel we are very limited to parking but do have lots of roads with free parking less than 2 min's walk and a park and ride at the end of the road with busses running every 10 min's.

Regards
Martin
YHA Canterbury

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2017 via mobile

This four floor hostel is a fifteen minute walk from the city centre. There are eight free parking spaces outside. It is efficiently and well run by long serving staff and in the back garden are three wooden igloo type constructions in which to sleep.
There is a nice kitchen in the basement, a tv room and a restaurant area. On the ground floor is a large relaxing room and in the buildin are rooms with a differing amount of beds in, set on three floors.
Highly recommended.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank sabatinitennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHA-Canterbury, Team Member at YHA Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your kind and detailed review about our hostel, We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will come back to visit in the future.

Kind Regards
Martin
YHA Canterbury

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

Another great stay in yha Canterbury. Stayed in a 2 bunk, 4 berth room; warm and cosy. The showers, toilets and kitchen clean. Friendly and helpful staff.

This was a 7 night stay, busy over the weekend but much quieter during the week. Enjoyed my stay and will be back.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHA-Canterbury, Team Member at YHA Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you for the 5* review it means the world to us at the hostel to see how happy our guests are, We hope you will come to visit us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Martin
YHA Canterbury

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews