We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveller rating
149
68
13
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
68
13
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews retail park hi express the sofa bed usb ports modern hotel big walk in shower london colney included in the room rate harry potter plug sockets quick check close to the hotel air con free wifi budget hotel the hotel was fully booked colney fox
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 238 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

Just stayed in the hotel this weekend to give us easy access to harry potter world. Nice and clean and the staff were friendly. It's right next to the m25 so there is some slight background noise but not enough to stop us getting to sleep. Shower really nice. Breakfast is ok with enough selection to keep everyone happy. Not lots of seats in the bar area but didnt get too busy. Plenty of on site parking. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank RickyBobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018

Recently stayed here on while in the area on business. I have to say the hotel itself is spotless, staff friendly and polite and at last a room with USB and plug sockets next to the bed.
The room is very modern, clean and perfectly adequate for one or two nights.
Breakfast is the usual HIEx offering and will set you up for the day so long as you are not too fussy. Main thing for me was that the area was clean and staff keeping it that way.

Now for the BUT...... even by HIEx standard the food offering in the evening is unbelievably poor.
2 main dishes or curry or noodles or a pizza that is your lot. I know HIEx have a limited menu and it tends to be food that is easily warmed up but really! is that the best we can do.
That said... this is my only gripe with the place. I would definitely stay again, but just make evening food arrangements elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kieron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXStAlbans, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Dear Mad_Man_Yorkshire,

Thank you so much for letting me know about your experience at our hotel. I am so delighted that you will choose our hotel in the future and am pleased to say that we are currently developing a new menu and I welcome your feedback on our new ideas.

Have a wonderful day!

Regards,

Will Glenn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Every member of staff I interacted with, at check-in, the bar and on check-out, offered impeccable customer service. Polite, friendly and genuinely interested. With all chain hotels it's down to the staff to make the difference and this hotel delivers.

The hotel is spotlessly clean and well maintained.

Only slight downside is the location. Great if you are looking to get back on the M25 quickly but some way from St Albans itself. There is a very decent pub a 10 minute walk away if you don't fancy the HIEx offer.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mr W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Top class hotel in its market niche. One of their receptionists, Alessandra, was a shining light of quality customer care ....highly skilled at multi tasking and a lovely way with people.....thank you Peter Keevil

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

8 of us stayed in 4 rooms over2 nights for Good Friday and Saturday. Went to the Harry Potter Studio Tour on the Friday which is quite close by and then caught the train into London for shopping Saturday. Hotel looks and feels new. It is clean and well presented with friendly attentive staff. The rooms were larger than average and had lovely comfortable beds. Due to OUR mistake we booked accessible rooms which had wet room type showers and the shower curtains didn`t really contain the water that well, so it got wet around the toilet area +++. The breakfast is comprehensive and has a good choice of cooked and uncooked food and fruit, juices, coffee etc. Even on the Sunday morning when we went down much later it was still easy enough to get tables and the staff kept the food area well stocked. Apart from the shower my only gripe was that the smoking area is right outside the front door and in my opinion should be moved around the side of the building as it was like "running the smokers gauntlet" entering or leaving the hotel (which is non-smoking throughout).
Overall all the people in the group would recommend the hotel and we`d certainly use it again for a base in that area or to commute into London.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews