We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Sopwell House(St Albans)
US$246
US$171
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans(St Albans)(Great Value!)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The White Hart Hotel(St Albans)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$119/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Premier Inn St Albans City Centre Hotel(St Albans)(Great Value!)
US$68
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ardmore House(St Albans)
US$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fleuchary House No. 29(St Albans)(Great Value!)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
178 London Road(St Albans)(Great Value!)
US$83
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
17
8
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
8
3
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Close to the main hustle of St Albans yet far enough away to feel secluded. The bedrooms are clean, well furnished and with good amenities. Great value for money! Your hostess is very charming, friendly, knowledgeable and welcoming. Definitely a place to keep noted in your phone. Breakfast is relaxed and served in a very characterful dining room. If you have a dog they can also be accommodated! Full of quirky and personal artefacts - refreshingly so.
Lovely!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulCamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2010

My husband and I stayed at Fern Cottage when visiting my aunt in St Alban's in October.Fern Cottage was a nicely decorated, homely cottage. The bed was comfortable ans the continental breakfast was ample with Dorothee offering choices of cereals, fruit and cheeses and a choice of breads and croissants. The coffee was good. She was also very informative on places to eat and to visit while in town.Hope to be back next year.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mariea064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

I travel a lot for work so its always lovely to end up in St Albans at my little London home.
I ve stayed here quite a few times now over the last few years and there are lots of reasons I keep coming back.
Dorothea is a wonderful hostess and nothing ever seems to be too much trouble for her from downloading driving instructions from the internet to finding time to talk about the amazing collection of ornaments the house is full of..
The beds are comforatble ; the bathrooms clean and breakfast is free!
What more could you ask for at such a reasonable price?
Well - its conveniently located and near to public transport and St Albans has a wonderful Market Day twice a week so you can buy some wonderful cheese or bread or pastries and head off to one of the fabulous parks situated nearby for a picnic
Fern Cottage is certainly the spot I will continue to head for when I come to London..

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kiwigal62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

Wonderfully charming bed and breakfast, bright, clean and comfortable room. My partner opted for the cooked breakfast and I had continental both of which were of excellent quality. I wish more places gave you the option to pay less and not have cooked breakfast, since I rarely want one but feel I'm somehow losing out if I don't so I think this scheme works very well. The host was very helpful and informative. Great location too. All in all a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacquiAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

A beautiful little b&b - rooms were all they were described as - lovely! Shame about breakfast - you apparently can't have a full English unless you book (the breakfast) in advance (but this is tricky if you are not told about it) for an extra £1 (who wouldn't)? Or was it because our host got confused about the hour change and forgot to turn up?

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathie92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews