We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Quality Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Winchester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Winchester
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good Quality Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed overnight at this hotel as we were going to our son's wedding in Winchester. We stayed in a double room with a rollaway bed. Whilst the double bed was very comfortable the rollaway bed was the complete opposite. With hindsight we regretted not booking a family room with two double beds. Apart from this the hotel was very good in all other areas including breakfast and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deerhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear Deerhunter,

Thank you for your review. I will look into your comments on the rollaway beds as they are less than a year old. The family rooms with the two double beds are very popular and often booked weeks in advance, just in case you are planning your return visit soon.

Kind Regards

Siobhan Thomasson

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    351
    104
    27
    11
See reviews for
254
310
43
168
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed for two nights with my wife at the Holiday Inn. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the room was spotlessly clean. We also dined on both nights in the restaurant and the service and food was very good and not to expensive. We gave breakfast a miss, as we felt it was very expensive at around £15 each. The room was very quiet and stylishly furnished. The only things I could fault were the small space for hanging clothes was further reduced by the iron and ironing board and the fact that I couldn't get a WiFi signal in the room.
A bonus was that we paid £20.12 for each night, as it was part of a 24 hour promotion held on the 20 December 2012.
I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Camuscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear Camsucat,,

Thank you for your review. The promotion was a great deal and I delighted you booked our booked our hotel!

Many Thanks

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We booked this hotel as part of a Peppa Pig overnight stay and were very impressed. We had a family room which was very large and very modern and clean. The front desk staff were very pleasant and helpful and gave our children a little present which was a nice touch. Breakfast was quite straightforward and everybody was very nice. Would certainly recommend this hotel for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelRosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Michael,

What a lovely review! Thank you so much for taking the time to do this. I am delighted you had such a great time and the children enjoyed the gift.
I hope to see you and your family if you are in the area again.

Kind Regards

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
128 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Having spent a fair few nights in Holiday Inns recently this one is the best by miles. Modern, clean, comfortable, great staff, great location and fantastic value. Yes, it's only a couple of years old so I guess it should be modern and new but it is far better value than many of the rip off tired Holiday Inns in the area. Food in the restaurant was great. Well worth it's AA rosette and again good value and great service. I couldn't recommend this hotel highly enough and I will definitely return when next in the area. It's well worth the extra drive out of Southampton or Portsmouth.

Room Tip: Room 333 is an executive suite, it's fantastic and massive! Well worth the small extra cost to u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Andy C,

Wow! Thank you for such a great review! I am thrilled you had a great stay. Room 333 is a fantastic suite which we are very lucky to have. I have passed your great commnets back to the team.

Thank you once again,

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

This was my second visit to the hotel, on this occasion I was dining with friends in Winchester, so decided to stay the night so I could enjoy a glass or two of wine. The hotel is in a very convenient location, about a five to ten minute taxi drive from the City Centre (cab costs just under £10 as long as it's before midnight), and is also close to junction 9 of the M3. The hotel is very modern, staff we very friendly, the room was pretty standard but very comfortable.

Room cost for a Saturday night was probably the most competitive for the area. However it did not include breakfast, which costs £9.50 as long as you buy a token when you check in. There was also free WiFi, although the speed of this was painfully slow...it's fine for checking emails, but forget about playing media of any kind. The other annoyance, which I remembered from my previous stay - at breakfast, you get asked the standard "would you like tea or coffee". Well, I'm a bit different and like hot chocolate. This seemingly is a massive problem. They have to get the bar to do it, and it's not included in the £9.50. If I were to go to a cafe in town, they'd manage it, but at Holiday Inn it seems to be a major problem to get a cup of hot milk and drop three teaspoons of Cadburys in it.
Again, the annoyances may not affect some visitors, but such small things that could be sorted out pretty easily would make the average rating above become a very good.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boyvision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear boyvision,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. I am glad that on the whole you enjoyed your stay.
I have asked our IT company to investigate the speed of our wi fi as per your comments. I have also spoken to our F and B Manager regarding your request for hot chocolate which as you pointed out should not be a problem.

I do hope that you will bear us in mind if you are in the area again.

Kind Regards
SiobhanThomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
3.5 km away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.8 km away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,645 reviews
2.5 km away
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
#5 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
3.3 km away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
3.5 km away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Winchester

Property: Holiday Inn Winchester
Address: Telegraph Way | Morn Hill, Winchester SO21 1HZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Winchester
#2 Business Hotel in Winchester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Winchester 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect destination for leisure, business or families. Our 141 luxury and contemporary bedrooms offer ultimate comfort and amenities, including: high-speed wi-fi, luxury beds, power showers and luxury toiletries.Enjoy lunch or dinner at the AA Rosette awarded Morn Hill Brasserie, or relax with a drink or light meal in our contemporary lounge bar.Our stunning location on the edge of the South Downs National Park makes the Holiday Inn one of the most spectacular Winchester wedding venues, catering for to 180 guests. We also offer event hire for parties and celebrations.For all things business, the hotel provides excellent accommodation, as well as meeting rooms and conference facilities. There are 8 boardrooms available for hire, which also includes high speed wireless internet and free car parking.With great parking and access by the M3 motorway, train or bus - the hotel is ideally located to explore the historic city of Winchester and surrounding attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Winchester Hotel Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing