We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (453)
Filter reviews
453 results
Traveller rating
369
63
15
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
369
63
15
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gastro pub florence arms mercer group quiet road mercer collection beautiful room nothing too much trouble parking permit quiet area breakfast was excellent one night stay sea front street parking on arrival full english breakfast room comfortable bed
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 453 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2018

Absolutely loved this hotel! We booked a superior room which was spacious, sunny, tastefully decorated, and had a fabulously comfortable bed! Loved the fact that the hotel had retained a lot of the building's period details yet was refurbished to the highest modern standards.The staff were superb - so friendly and extremely efficient. We also loved the location. The area is very attractive and quiet and the hotel is close to the beach and handy for the ferry or train station. We had dinner at the hotel's own gastropub, which was excellent. Our room rate also included a wonderful breakfast. I couldn't recommend this hotel more highly and can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are probably sunnier.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights while visiting some of the local sights in Portsmouth. It is situated in a lovely characterful building with high ceilings, and our room was on the top floor. It was very hot during our stay and there is no air conditioning given the age of the building, but the room was spacious and furnishings and fixtures very tasteful. We were given a warm welcome on our arrival, and breakfast provided a good choice of cereals, fruit and a nice range of cooked options. It was also helpful to be able to park close by. Overall we enjoyed our stay very much.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank JennyWren1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Located in the heart of Southsea in Portsmouth (walking distance from the sea front) this small hotel comprises a number of individually and very well appointed rooms. My OH and I regularly stay in larger chain hotels and were fed up of the cold and stereotype rooms and service. The Florence suite Boutique provided a quality room (comfy bed and really good shower), excellent personal service (bags taken to the room and chilled wine delivered to the room at a set time) and a very good restaurant (a la carte breakfast) Our only disappointment is that we didn't get to eat there in the evening as we were out at a function.

Room Tip: I suggest you review the facilities on the hotel web site or better still talk to the staff who couldn't have been more helpful.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank philrayner2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Dear Phil, thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review.
We are very pleased that you were well looked after and that we are able to offer a more personable style of service for you.
Each room is decorated differently and therefore have their own character, so if you wish to stay again, please do not hesitate to contact us directly so that we can offer personalised room selection for the best price!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

very pleasantly surprised.
really nice hotel, beautiful room, smaller than in the pictures but still okay.
great breakfast
very helpful and friendly staff
we had a groundfloor room with an terrace which was nice

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frans1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
We are pleased that you liked your own private garden area and hope that you were able to make the most of it in the sunshine!
We look forward to welcoming you again, to ensure the most suitable room for the best price, just contact us directly for your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018 via mobile

Stayed here 3 nights, and very happy with the experience.
Converted Edwardian house, so no elevator or A/C. No in room safe.
Room large and comfortable, good bed and pillows. Bathroom large and well equipped.
Excellent staff at all levels.
Fast and solid free wifi.
Nice location, some low level street noise.
Recommended.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank NorthernWanderer0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Thank you for your review.
We are pleased that we ticked many of your boxes to make your stay a good one!
We look forward to welcoming you again, for the best rate, just give us a call.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews